Tshwane New Mayor Msimanga Announces His Mayoral Committee


DA’s newly elected mayor of Tshwane municipality Solly Msimanga has announced a new team he would work with in the five years of his tenure.

The new mayor, who was elected unopposed last week, has today August 26, selected 10 Mayoral Committee members that would help him achieve his goal in the metropolitan municipality.

The mayor appointed Darryl Moss as MMC for Infrastructure; Randall Williams as MMC for Economic Development while Mike Mkhari will man the Agriculture and Environment sector.

Also See: Cosatu Plans For War In All DA Municipalities

The Roads and Transport department will be headed by Sheila Senkugube, the Human Settlements division will be led by Mandla Nkomo and the Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture MMC will be Ntsiki Mokhotho. Marie-Lisa Fourie and Cilliers Brink will head the Finance and Corporate Services departments respectively.

Msimanga modified his mayoral committees to make them more inclusive after ANC criticized the party of selecting mostly white and male executive.

The mayor was meant to announce his mayoral committee on Wednesday, but the briefing was cancelled in order to make amends of the committee members.

The party has long faced criticism in Cape Town for failing to diversify its appointments. But it defended itself by saying that balancing capacity with diversity was at the heart of its strategy in constituting mayoral committees in metros.

The ANC had governed the capital city since the dawn of democracy in South Africa but has now been dethroned by the DA and a coalition of smaller parties.

Also See: EFF Confirms Ndlozi’s Temporary Break From Politics

On his inauguration day, Msimanga said the DA was bringing a new dawn to Tshwane through his government. ” No more blue lights for President Zuma in Tshwane,” he said.

Msimanga called on his team to get finances right, creating jobs & deliver better services while cutting corruption.