R500k To Be Deposited By Parties Contesting In The Coming Elections


As the country prepares for the coming municipality elections in August, political parties contesting in the elections have been called to meet up with the independence Electoral Commission (IEC)‘s date for the submission of their party candidate.

The IEC have given political parties contesting less than two weeks to submit their list of candidate nominations for the August 3 local government elections.

Also See: ‘ANC Often Makes The Mistake Of Belittling Malema’s Political Prowess’ – UFS VC Jansen

The commission said this on Tuesday as it welcomed the proclamation of the 2016 Municipal Elections by the Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs‚ Des van Rooyen.

Political parties have until 17h00 on Thursday 2 June 2016 to submit their list of nominations for ward candidates‚ proportional representation candidates and district council candidates. The same applies to independent candidates.

The proclamation spurred the official election timetable which the Electoral Commission published in a special Government Gazette. The timetable which laid down dates and deadlines for various milestones until Election day, spans to the next 72 days

Further more, the Commission said that political parties contesting in all municipal councils must have a deposit of R482‚000 to participate. Eight metros contesting will claim a deposit of R28‚000‚ while the 205 local councils cost R410‚000 and the 44 district councils a total of R44‚000

Deposits are refunded where at least one candidate is elected to the council.

Nominees who would want to stand for election as an independent candidate in a ward have to first be a registered voter in the municipality in which they are contesting. They must also submit a completed nomination form including the signatures of 50 registered voters in the ward they are contesting‚ a copy of their ID‚ an A5 colour head and shoulders photograph for the ballot paper and proof of payment of an election deposit of R1‚000.

A date has also been set for the closing of the voters roll‚ after which no new applicants may be admitted to the voters’ roll‚ including additional registrations or re-registrations. The Electoral Commission said certification of the voters’ roll for the 2016 Municipal Elections takes place on 31 May 2016.

A total of 53‚757 candidates contested the previous Municipal Elections in 2011 – including 754 independent candidates.

Meanwhile, president Jacob Zuma has called for a peaceful election exercise on the voting day adding that people should unite and ensure that the campaign and election periods are hassle free and peaceful. “There must be tolerance‚ peaceful co-existence among political parties and free political activity ” he said.

Also See: ‘Zuma Wives’ Cars Could Have Funded 116 Students’ – Shadow Minister Of Police

Zuma went on to urge political parties involved in the exercise to abide by the Independent Electoral Commission Code of Conduct.

“We must unite our people against violence‚ thuggery and hooliganism and ensure that we maintain our track record of peaceful‚ free and fair elections in our country.

“Once more‚ we urge our people to go out in their numbers to exercise their democratic right by going out to vote on the 3rd of August‚” he added.