Quadrangular Series: Checkout CSA’s Preliminary Squad For Potchefstroom Clash


Cricket South Africa (CSA) has unveiled a 22-woman preliminary squad for the CSA Women’s Quadrangular series.

The Quadrangular series is a One-Day International (ODI) series that will feature India, Zimbabwe and Ireland in Potchefstroom from 7th to 21st May 2017.

Unveiling the squad for the Quadrangular series, CSA acknowledged that this is the year of the ICC Women’s World Cup in England and Wales.

Check Out – Bullfighter Undergoes Anal Reconstruction After A Bull Gored His Bum 

With that, CSA related that the selectors of the Quadrangular series squad, led by Khomotso Volvo Masubelele believe it’s important to have a pool of strong players from which the 14-woman squad that will take part in the Quadrangular series will be subsequently selected.

CSA also specified that the quadrangular will form part of the Momentum Proteas’ final preparation for the World Cup.

Commenting on the selection of the preliminary squad, Masubelele said:

“This process has been three years in the making. The preliminary squad named today is not picked just on the performances of this stand-alone competition (CSA National Women’s Week).

We have been building towards this year, the quadrangular and ultimately, the World Cup for a long time and we have spent a lot of time identifying players that we believe are going to do well for the Momentum Proteas.

Looking at the players selected, you will find a really good mixture and balance between youth and experience and their preparation for the quadrangular series can only serve us in good stead heading towards England in June.”

Read Also – Joseph Lamptey: Ghanaian Referee Gets Life Ban For Manipulating SA Match With Senegal

Below are the players selected as members of the preliminary squad for the CSA Women’s Quadrangular series:

  1. Dane van Niekerk (Eastern Province)
  2. Chloe Tryon (KwaZulu-Natal)
  3. Mignon du Preez (Northerns)
  4. Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province)
  5. Ayabonga Khaka (Border)
  6. Masabata Klaas (Free State)
  7. Anneke Bosch (North West)
  8. Andrie Steyn (Western Province)
  9. Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province)
  10. Lizelle Lee (North West)
  11. Lara Goodall (Western Province)
  12. Nonkululeko Thabethe (Gauteng)
  13. Sune Luus (Northerns)
  14. Yolani Fourie (Gauteng)
  15.  Elriesa Fourie (North West)
  16.  Odine Kirsten (Northerns)
  17. Shabnim Ismail (Gauteng)
  18. Marcia Letsoalo (Northerns),
  19. Moseline Daniels (Boland)
  20. Raisibe Ntozakhe (Gauteng)
  21. Trisha Chetty (Gauteng)
  22. Nadine de Klerk (Northerns).