5 Times History Repeats Itself: Messi Wins Ballon d’or 2015


Once again, Lionel Messi wins the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or.

After a remarkable year, the Barcelona football superstar has now carried home the prestigious ballon d’Or prize for the fifth time.

Over the last two years, Messi has been watching from the audience as Real Madrid superstar Cristiano Ronaldo who became a three-time winner last year lifts the trophy, but this time around, he has edged out the Real Madrid superstar, and team-mate Neymar to win the covetous award. His previous victories came between 2009 and 2012 with his latest triumph highlighting his return to the top of the world football game.

Before the ceremony in Zurich, Messi admitted he would swap his Ballon d’Or successes for just one World Cup after the heartbreaking loss at the 2014 final to Germany. “A lot of time has passed since 2009. I’ve grown and learned a few things,” he said. “We grow and learn from everything. I’m trying to add things to my game.”

See Also: See Also: 5 South African Footballers To Watch In The African Cup Of Nations

In his special moment, Messi revealed his obvious delight at winning the trophy for the fifth time especially since its not just an trophy, it is the one that is most wanted by all of the best footballers there are in the world.

he says;

“It’s a very special moment to be back here, winning another Ballon d’Or”

“Especially after watching from the crowd as Cristiano won last year”

“It’s incredible win a fifth… more than anything I ever dreamed of as a kid”

“I want to thank those who voted for me, plus my team-mates. Without them this wouldn’t be possible”

“Football has always made me learn and grow”

“Thank you and good evening”

The 28-year-old Argentine football legend had 41.33% of the votes, with Real Madrid player Cristiano Ronaldo follows with (27.76%) and Barcelona’s Neymar took the third position with (7.86%)

Here Are Past Winners Of Ballon d’Or

2014: Cristiano Ronaldo

2013: Cristiano Ronaldo

2012: Lionel Messi

2011: Lionel Messi

2010: Lionel Messi

2009: Lionel Messi

2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

2007: Kaka

2006: Fabio Cannavaro

2005: Ronaldinho

2004: Andriy Shevchenko

2003: Pavel Nedved