Young And Fast Kagiso Rabada Breaks A Record At Cricket SA Awards


Young fast bowler Kagiso Rabada broke a record by becoming the first player to win six trophies at a Cricket SA (CSA) function.

At the annual dinner held in Johannesburg on Tuesday, Rabada bagged awards for test and one-day cricketer of the year‚ the players’ player of the year‚ the fans’ player of the year‚ the delivery of the year‚ and most importantly, the cricketer of the year.

See: Local Celebrities Up In Arms About Criticism On Caster Semenya

Rabada’s six awards surpassed AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla who have won five in past years. Aside winning six awards, the fast bowler emerged as the youngest to win the main prize so far.

Just few months past his 21st birthday‚ Rabada is named SA’s cricketer of the year.

Chief executive of CSA Haroon Lorgat highlighted in a statement that Rabada possessed the “humility and level-headedness that you would normally associate with a senior player”.

The fact that Rabada achieved so much in a time when two of South Africa’s most experienced seamers – Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander were both injured for most part of the previous summer, makes it more remarkable.

“With injuries to our main fast bowlers during this past year, he has had to step up and lead the attack. How brilliantly has he done that,” Lorgat said.

See: Forbes World’s Highest-Paid Athletes 2016, Guess Who Topped The List?

His next move might be to join Jacques Kallis‚ Makhaya Ntini‚ Amla and De Villiers as the only players to win big twice.

His teammates were able to take what was left of the awards after Kagiso Rabada did a number on them.

Two trophies were left out after Rabada was done with them. Imran Tahir took SA’s T20 player of the year while Temba Bavuma won the “So Good” award.

On other categories, Stephen Cook’s century on a Test debut against England at Centurion made him the newcomer of the year.