Faf du Plessis’ Ball Tampering Appeal Flops, CSA Embraces Outcome


After  Faf du Plessis was found guilty of breaching Article 2.2.9 of the ICC Code of Conduct when a video footage showed him applying an artificial substance to the ball during the fourth day’s play in the second Test against Australia in Hobart, he rejected the findings of Match Referee Andy Pycroft and exercise his right to appeal on the ball tampering issue.

As such, a Judicial Commissioner was appointed to hear Du Plessis’ appeal.

Check Out: I’ve Proved To the World That I’m the Best – Cristiano Ronaldo

Now, the ICC Independent Commissioner, Michael Beloff QC decided to uphold the decision handed down last month by the ICC match referee, Andrew Pycroft; leaving Cricket South Africa (CSA) with no option but to accept Du Plessis was guilty of ball tampering.

Commenting, CSA’s Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said:

“We are satisfied with the matter being given due consideration by a person independent of the ICC. Both CSA and Faf believed that this appeal was imperative considering the important principles at stake.

In our view, the fact that Mr Beloff deliberated for some time after hearing complex legal arguments from both sides demonstrates that this matter does indeed require further consideration and clarification from the ICC and the MCC.

Notwithstanding the outcome of the appeal and Mr Beloff’s helpful rulings on the matter, we hope that further reviews of the Code of Conduct and the laws of the game takes place as players will no doubt continue to seek clarification as to what is or is not permissible in the light of this case.”

See Also: Videos – Checkout Top 10 Best Goals of 2016

Meanwhile, India finished 2016 as the number-one ranked Test side on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings.

The South Asian country moved to 120 points in the last Test team rankings update of 2016, 15 points ahead of second-placed Australia.

Below is the latest MRF Tyres ICC Test Team Rankings:

  1. India 120 (+5)
  2. Australia 105
  3. Pakistan 102
  4. South Africa 102
  5. England 101 (-4)
  6. New Zealand 96
  7. Sri Lanka 96
  8. West Indies 69
  9. Bangladesh 65
  10. Zimbabwe 05