ANC Presidential Nomination: Dlamini-Zuma Defeats Ramaphosa In KwaZulu-Natal


ANC Presidential Nomination – The ruling party in KwaZulu-Natal province has endorsed former African National (AU) chairperson, Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma as its preferred presidential candidate.

Dlamini-Zuma received the region’s seal of approval during its Provincial General Council (PGC) held on Monday under strict monitoring.

See Also: First Pictures Of Julius Malema’s Adorable Son Breaks Internet

Details of the election showed that Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma defeated her closest rival Cyril Ramaphosa by a huge margin. While she obtained an impressive 433 nominations, Ramaphosa was nominated by 193 branches.

The nomination outcomes also indicated that current ANC secretary-general Gwede Mantashe lost out to his rival Nathi Mthethwa for the position of national chairperson. While 358 branches queued behind Arts and Culture Minister Mthethwa, only 190 branches supported Mantashe.

Mpumalanga ANC chairperson David Mabuza was nominated by 434 branches for the position of deputy president having beaten ANC treasurer-general Zweli Mkhize at 59 and Naledi Pandor at 53.

For the position of secretary-general Free State chairperson‚ Ace Magashule was nominated by 410 braches while Senzo Mchunu was nominated by 190.

For the position of the deputy secretary-general, Jessie Duarte was nominated by 357 branches while Zingiswa Losi received nominations from 111 branches.

Minister of Department of Water and Sanitation Nomvula Mokonyane was nominated by 289 branches for the position of treasurer-general while Paul Mashatile garnered the nominations of just 188 branches for the same position.

Provincial chairperson David Mabuza emerged as the favourite for the position of deputy president after he took 434 branch nominations while Human settlements minister Lindiwe Sisulu followed with 6 nominations.

BuzzSouthAfrica was, however, informed that at the end of nomination on Monday, a request was made for the branch votes to be verified again. This led to the total votes being recounted. And from what we gathered on Tuesday morning, the results remained relatively unchanged but the votes did slightly change.

The changes led to Dlamini-Zuma receiving additional nominations from 24 branches, moving her from 433 to 454. However, Cyril Ramaphosa dropped by two votes from 193 to 191 while deputy president front-runner David Mabuza increased by 15 votes from 434 to 449.

Similarly, deputy secretary-general nomination for Jessie Duarte moved from 357 to 372 branches while treasurer general nominee Nomvula Mokonyane had an additional 13 votes from 289 to 302.

Check Out: Dlamini Bathabile Crowned Most Incompetent Minister For 2017

Remarkably, Dlamini-Zuma’s victory in KwaZulu-Natal on Monday came on the same day she lost out to Cyril Ramaphosa in Limpopo.