IAAF Athletics Awards: 3 South Africans Nominated For The Prize


2017 IAAF Athletics Awards – The International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) has announced the opening of the voting process for the 2017 World Athletes of the Year.

The 2017 IAAF Athletics Awards will take place in Monaco on Friday 24th November 2017.

Already, IAAF has okayed a list of 10 men and 10 women nominees. From what we learnt, the nominees were selected by an international panel of athletics experts, comprising representatives from all six continental areas of the IAAF.

Read Also – Tshenolo Lemao: Meet The Guy Who Broke SA’s 100M Race Jinx 

BuzzSouthAfrica can confirm that three (3) South Africans were nominated for the prize.

While South Africa’s 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk and long jump athlete, Luvo Manyonga were nominated in the men category, 800m champion, Caster Semenya was named among the females nominated.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Below is the full list of athletes nominated for the award:


  1.  Mutaz Essa Barshim (QAT)
  2. Pawel Fajdek (POL)
  3. Mohamed Farah (GBR)
  4. Sam Kendricks (USA)
  5. Elijah Manangoi (KEN)
  6. Luvo Manyonga (RSA)
  7. Omar McLeod (JAM)
  8. Christian Taylor (USA)
  9. Wayde van Niekerk (RSA)
  10. Johannes Vetter (GER)


  1. Almaz Ayana (ETH)
  2. Maria Lasitskene (ANA)
  3. Hellen Obiri (KEN)
  4. Sally Pearson (AUS)
  5. Sandra Perkovic (CRO)
  6. Brittney Reese (USA)
  7. Caster Semenya (RSA)
  8. Ekaterini Stefanidi (GRE)
  9. Nafissatou Thiam (BEL)
  10. Anita Wlodarczyk (POL)

According to IAAF, a three-way voting process will determine the finalists.

The IAAF Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result. That of the IAAF Family and the public votes will each, count for 25% of the final result.

While IAAF Council and the IAAF Family will cast their votes via email, fans will vote online through IAAF’s social media platforms.

IAAF said individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook and Twitter later this week and, that “a ‘like’ or ‘favourite’ will count as one vote.”

Read Also – Scott Baldwin: See What Happens When You Try To Pet A Wild Cat

Voting will close on 16th October. After this, IAAF will announce three men and three women as finalists. Ultimately, the male and female World Athletes of the Year will be announced live on stage at the IAAF Athletics Awards 2017.