South Africans Nominated For 2016 World Rugby Awards


The shortlists for the 2016 World Rugby Awards have been announced with three South Africans listed for the prestigious award.

It was a shortlist for seven top accolades that world rugby unveiled. It includes the men’s and women’s sevens players of the year. And, will be presented at the 2016 World Rugby Awards dinner on 13 November at the Hilton London Metropole.

While South Africa’s winger, Seabelo Senatla was nominated for the World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year Award, Jaco Peyper and Rasta Rasivhenge were listed for the World Rugby Referee Award.

See Also: Australia VS South Africa: Proteas Has Got Its Tail Wagging

The 2016 World Rugby Awards, according to Bill Beaumont – World Rugby Chairman – will be celebrating excellence in rugby, honouring the world’s greatest players, coaches, teams and those who have given so much to the sport.

“The past year has produced some amazing performances by all the best men’s and women’s teams, in both 15s and sevens, so voting for the 2016 awards has been especially close and hard-fought. Each person on the various shortlists thoroughly deserves their nomination,” Beaumont said.

He added that 2016 is “a special year in the history of our game as sevens made its Olympic Games debut in Rio. I have no doubt that the sevens player of the year awards will be a particularly difficult one to decide, given how many world-class performers we have seen throughout the year. For me, I am looking forward to a great evening of reflection on another fantastic 12 months for rugby.”

Below is a full list of those nominated for the award:

  1. World Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
    1. Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
    2. Emily Scarratt (England)
    3. Portial Woodman (New Zealand)
  2. World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year in association with HSBC
    1. Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
    2. Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
    3. Virimi Vakatawa (France)
  3. World Rugby Team of the Year 
    1. England
    2. Fiji Sevens
    3. New Zealand
  4. World Rugby Coach of the Year
    1. Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
    2. Eddie Jones (England)
    3. Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)
  5. World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
    1. Maro Itoje (England)
    2. Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
    3. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)
  6. IRPA Try of the Year
    1. Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v Italy)
    2. Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
    3. TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)
  7. World Rugby Referee Award
    1. Jérôme Garcès (France)
    2. Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
    3. Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
    4. Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

Jurie Roux, SA Rugby CEO has already congratulated the three South Africans nominated for the award.

Roux said: “Our referees have always been highly rated in the world and this proves that it is still the case. Well done to Jaco and Rasta. And, to see Seabelo’s name amongst the nominees for Sevens Player of the Year is a good reward for the Blitzboks as well.

It is always good to be recognized by your peers and confirms that we are doing something right. Our sevens team has consistently delivered good performances despite their hectic schedule, playing in ten cities around the globe in the space of eight months.”

Check Out: Who Should Be SA’s Sports Star For The Year: Here Are The Nominees

He added that the team is already getting set for the 2016/17 series.

“…We are keen to see them in action in December when they will play in the HSBC Cape Town Sevens tournament. We believe this nomination inspire all of the guys to again deliver a highly competitive effort in the coming season,” Roux remarked.

Topics: >