Banyana Banyana’s Pauw Goes For 2016 Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award


Remember Banyana Banyana’s Pauw? The former head of the South Africa women’s national football team? She’s been nominated for the 2016 Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award.

Vera Pauw was named in the list of ten coaches nominated for the esteemed award.

Her nomination, in a nutshell, shows that Pauw is an outstanding coach. She coached the South African Senior Women’s National Team for almost three years.

Read Also: What’s The Worth Of His Words: Mbalulu Won’t Pay SA Athletes After Promises

She led them through the qualification and participation of the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. And, ensured they qualified for the 2016 Africa Women’s Cup of Nations scheduled to take place in Cameroon from 19 November to 3 December.

Afterwards, Banyana Banyana’s Pauw left her post following the expiration of her contract.

Undoubtedly, her contribution to the South African Senior Women’s National Team inspired experts from the Committee for Women’s Football and the FIFA Women’s World Cup to shortlist her among the ten head coaches named for the 2016 Best FIFA Women’s Coach Award.

Below is the list of these nominated:

  1.  Philippe Bergeroo (France/French national team)
  2. Jill Ellis (USA/US national team)
  3. John Herdman (England/Canadian national team)
  4. Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team)
  5. Vera Pauw (Netherlands/South African national team)
  6. Gérard Prêcheur (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
  7. Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team)
  8. Oswaldo Vadão (Brazil/Brazilian national team)
  9. Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Swiss national team)
  10. Thomas Wörle (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Read Also: South Africans Nominated For 2016 World Rugby Awards

A winner will emerge after a voting process in which 50% of the decision will be based on the choices of all captains and head coaches of women’s national teams around the globe.

The other half will be based on the result of an online public ballot with football fans and submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from all continents.

The voting process is scheduled between November 4 to November 22. The final lists of three nominees will be announced on 2 December.