SA Politician Awards: Check Out The Complete List Of Winners

Despite receiving many backlashes and opposition from a handful of political parties, the South African Politician Awards finally held, as earlier announced, on the eve of the State Address.

The event, which was organized by a company called Jozi Media, held at Cape Town’s Cape Sun Hotel on Wednesday night. Politicians were nominated to different categories including the Parliamentarian of the Year, Best Dressed Politician, Woman in Politics and Best Political Party category.

The Best Political Party category, according to the organizer’s website, will go to the party able to control and influence public policy. The said political party must have also played an intermediary role, linking the institutions of government to economic, ethnic, cultural, religious and other societal groups. For the Politician of the Year category, the winner will have demonstrated the biggest contribution to the political process in South Africa throughout the year.

A panel of balanced judges was put together to determine the winners. It is, however, not clear who these “balanced judges” are.

Read Also: Gupta Family Empire And Net Worth: Just How Rich And Powerful Are The Guptas?

The organizers said the event was intended to remedy the country’s political challenges. The Project director for the awards, Veronica Modiele, said the event will “rebuild the image of politics in South Africa, and give politics a good name.”

The optimism and faith put in the event did not pay off as largely expected as the event centre was marked with a dismal turnout and several empty tables. However, lovely tunes emanated from the plush hall stage and the presence of invited political bigwigs warmed the heart of guests and residents living nearby.

Organisers of the SA Politician Awards admitted that the late withdrawal of the African National Members (ANC) really contributed to the low turnout at the SA Politician Awards. The Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF) members were the first to pull out of the event, stating that politicians are public servants and not celebrities.

“Politicians are not celebrities. Awards must be given to someone who brings a special talent. This is all about personal glorification‚” EFF’s leader Malema said.

The move was taken by the African National Congress (ANC) afterwards. The ruling party in a statement urged its members to shun the frivolous event.

Best Articles of Buzz South Africa For 2013

Ironically, despite the ANC barring its members from making an appearance at the event, ANC Limpopo chairperson and Premier Stan Mathabatha ended up popping up around the event table with his political rivals.

However, the event went down smoothly and at the end, some politicians got publicly recognized for their contributions in the country.

The Winners of the SA Politicians Awards

Political Party of the Year: Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)

Best Parliamentarian of The Year: United Democratic Movement (UDM) leader, Bantu Holomisa

Premier of the Year: Premier Stan Mathabatha

Politician of The Year: United Democratic Movement (UDM) leader, Bantu Holomisa

Best Political Analyst of The Year: Analyst Somadoda Fikeni

Lifetime Achievement Award: Winnie Madikizela-Mandela. The ANC veteran received the award in absentia.

Read Also: Winnie Mandela; Biography, Children, Family, Net Worth, Is She Dead?

It is pertinent to note that this is the first political award ceremony aimed at celebrating the work of politicians across the country.

According to an information released on the website of the SA Politician Awards, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) was awarded the best political party of the year because the Mangosuthu Buthelezi-led party “controlled and influenced public policy and was also able to play intermediary role, linking the institutions of government to economic, ethnic, cultural, religious and other societal groups.”

Analyst Somadoda Fikeni is now ahead of his equals, which include Mcebisi Ndletyana, Aubrey Matshiqi and Steven Friedman.

UDM leader Bantu was apparently the biggest winner at the disbenefit of DA’s John Steenhuisen‚ Cope’s Terror Lekota and the ANC’s Buti Manamela, who were nominated alongside with him.

Read Also: ANC Has Lost Consciousness With The Masses – Malema

Some ANC heavyweights were nominated for various awards including President Jacob Zuma and his cabinet ministers, Malusi Gigaba and Lindiwe Zulu.

Despite Zuma being considered as the Politician of the Year, the embattled president, alongside Gigaba and Zulu didn’t show up at the event. Perhaps, they were busy putting things in place for February 9, State of the Nations Address (SONA).

Was this article helpful?
Queen Mentor
Queen Mentor
Queen always has the inside scoop on the lives of your famous celebrities, she is the go-to source when it comes to everything Hollywood and South African entertainment industry, an entertainer and a true queen in her own special way.
data-matched-content-rows-num="2" data-matched-content-columns-num="4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">


Analyzing Cindy Mahlangu’s Role as a Siyanda From The Queen and Her Romance With Bongani Zungu

Cindy Mahlangu is a South African actress and model who is currently blazing the trails in the entertainment scene. Recently, she was one of...

Why Evodia Mogase Divorced Her First Husband and How Old She Is Now

Evodia Mogase has built an interesting Persona on The Real Housewives of Johannesburg. She is an iron lady who says what she feels like...

Mary Twala – Revisiting Somizi’s Mother’s Life of Successes and Legacies

Mary Twala was a South African actress whose life was a testament to duty, humility, and honor. A thespian per excellence, she left an...

How Evodia Mogase Built Her Net Worth and Affords a Luxurious House

Evodia Mogase has come a very long way having had to build her fortune independently after her divorce from her first husband. Although she...

Exploring Kealeboga Masango’s Rise To Fame on Rhythm City and Her Family Background

Kealeboga Masango has been under the spotlight since she snagged her breakout role in the popular South African musical drama series, Rhythm City. She...

Featured Today

Mamphela Ramphele: 10 Things You Didn't Know About The Activist

How Quinton Jones’ Met, Married and Started a Family With Minnie Dlamini

Quinton Jones' marriage to South Africa's sweetheart, Minnie Dlamini was one of the biggest events of 2017. The news also broke so many hearts...

An Interesting List of Nandi Mbatha’s Boyfriends – Past and Present

Nandi Mbatha apparently loves the feeling of love and being treated to dates. Since the actress stepped onto the scene, she has dated a...

How Did Themba Ntuli Become So Famous and What Car Does He Drive?

Lovers of entertainment in South Africa would know the popular filmmaker, actor, and comedian, Themba Ntuli. Perhaps, one reason he has gained so much...

A Deeper Look at Quinton Jones’ Net Worth and How He Acquired His Wealth

Quinton Jones is one of the most mysterious South African celebrities. He has managed to keep his personal life very much private through the...

Analyzing Litlhonolofatso Litlhakanyane’s Role as Tebello on Scandal and Becoming A Famous Child Actor

Litlhonolofatso Litlhakanyane has been a mainstay of the soapie Scandal! ever since he broke out onto the scene of the popular South African...
Was this article helpful?

Related Stories