Who Should Be SA’s Sports Star For The Year: Here Are The Nominees


It’s time to vote for your 2016 Fav Sports Star! SA’s Sport and Recreation Minister, Fikile Mbalula has announced the nominees for the 2016 South African Sports Awards.

BuzzSouthAfrica gathered that the annual awards designed to honor sporting royalty will take place on 27 November 2016 at the Sand Du Plessis Theatre in Mangaung, Free State.

According to the Sport and Recreation Department, this year’s award will be challenging for nominees considering the SA team cool performances in the 2016 Rio Olympics and Paralympics.

Read Also: If You Missed It, Here Are 2016 BALLON D’OR Nominees

The categories and nominees for the 2016 sports award are:

  1. Sports Star of the Year
    1. Wayde Van Niekerk
    2. Caster Semenya
    3. Kagiso Rabada
  2. Sportswoman of the Year
    1. Jenna Ward
    2. Caster Semenya
    3. Phumza Maweni
  3. Sportsman of the Year
    1. Wayde Van Niekerk
    2. Hank Mc Gregor
    3. Chad Le Clos
  4. People’s Choice Award
    1. Chad Le Clos
    2. Wayde Van Niekerk
    3. Caster Semenya
    4. Kagiso Rabada
    5. Seabelo Senatla
  5. Team of the Year
    1. Rowing mensCoxless
    2. Mamelodi Sundowns
    3. Springboks
  6.  Coach of the Year
    1. Pitso Mosimane
    2. Anna Botha
    3. Jean Verster
    4. Suzanne Ferreira
  7. Newcomer of the Year Award
    1. Henri Schoeman
    2. Brad Binder
    3. NtandoMahlangu
  8. Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability
    1. Zanele Situ
    2. Anrune Liebenberg
    3. Ilse Hayes
  9. Sportsman of the Year with Disability
    1. Charl Du Toit
    2. Dyan Buis
    3. Reinhardt Hamman
  10. Volunteer of the Year
    1. Kim Pople
    2. Carol Blignaut
    3. Charles Villet
  11. Photographer of the Year
    1. Sydney Mahlangu
    2. Christian Kotze
    3. Reg Caldecott
  12. Journalist of the Year
    1. David van der Sandt
    2. Thabiso Sithole
    3. Kwena Moabelo
  13. School Team of the Year
    1. St Benedict’s – Rowing
    2. La Roche Girls School – Athletics
    3. Paarl Boys High School – Rugby
  14. Developing School Team of the Year
    1. EdaminiPrimary/ Umzinyathi Team
    2. Ludondolo J.S.S. (Under 13 Football Girls Team)
    3. Benny’s Sports Academy
  15. Recreation Body of the Year
    1. Egoli Squash
    2. Fight with Insight
    3. Unogwaja
  16. Indigenous Games Team of the Year
    1. Limpopo Ilncuva
    2. North West Khokho
    3. KZN KgatliTeam
  17. National Federation of the Year
    1. Athletics SA
    2. Rowing SA
    3. Rollersport SA
  18. Administrator of the Year
    1. Robin de Kock
    2. Karen Losch
    3. Virginia Mabaso
  19. Lifetime Achiever Award
    1. Mark Gleeson – Journalist
    2. Zama Masondo – Commentator
    3. Thomas Kwanaite – Journalist

Meanwhile, reports have established that the Minister of Sports and Recreation hasn’t honored his monetary commitment to many SA athletes.

Read Here: What’s The Worth Of His Words: Mbalulu Won’t Pay SA Athletes After Promises

He’s yet to pay the top three local finishers in the 2016 Comrades Marathon and the incentives promised to Olympic and Paralympic medalists.