University Of Zululand: Courses, Contact Details & How To Apply

There are so many universities in South Africa that offer a wide range of professional courses which have helped raise many talents, both in the country and beyond. Among them is the University of Zululand, also known as UniZulu or Zululand University. The South African public tertiary institution is the only university that is located in the north of the Tugela River (which is in the Kwa-Zulu Natal Province). The interesting thing about the University of Zululand courses is that they integrate career-focused courses alongside the normal university degree courses to have the students better prepared for the various careers they choose to pursue.

The school was founded in 1960 as the University College of Zululand. It began as a college affiliated with the University of South Africa, intended to cater to Swazi and Zulu students. At the time, it only had 41 students, of which 75 perfect were male and 25 percent were female. However, it was granted university status in 1970 and has grown impressively since then; attracting students from different countries all over Africa including Namibia, Botswana, Nigeria, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Cameroon, Kenya, Swaziland, and Tanzania, etc.

Interestingly, UniZulu integrates community service into its curriculum to help produce graduates capable of responding to social problems with the scholarly inquiry and are ready to contribute and build a better society. It is, for this reason, that UniZulu is in partnership with a number of schools and various agencies abroad – for the betterment of their students. Zululand University is currently in partnership with a number of schools in Europe and in the United States of America. Some of which include Radford University, Chicago State University, University of Mississippi, Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University.

The University Of Zululand Faculties and Courses

University Of Zululand
Image Source

UniZulu’s main campus is located at Kwadlangezwa, which is 19km south of Empangeni and 142km north of Durban. The University of Zululand, in the past, had satellite campuses all over the KwaZulu-Natal Province. However, it currently has only one satellite campus which is located in Richards Bay. The Richards Bay campus offers mostly diploma and certificate programmes. The university also has a Science Center at Richards Bay.
The Science Center provides a dedicated science experience for the students within the province.

The University of Zululand offers courses in four faculties including Commerce, Adminsitration, and Law, Education, Science and Agriculture. These faculties offer the following courses:

1. Commerce, Administration, and Law

This faculty comprises five departments, which also participates avidly in community outreach and development programmes. These departments include:

  • Department of Public Administration and Political Science
  • Department of Business Management (including Human Resources Management)
  • Department of Accounting (including Information Technology)
  • Department of Economics
  • Law Departments (Private law, Public law, and Criminal & Procedural law)
See also
Varsity College Fee Structure and the List of Bursaries You Can Apply For

2. Education

The faculty of Education consists of six different departments including the following:

  • Department of Comparative and Science of Education
  • Department of Curriculum and Instructional Studies
  • Department of Educational Psychology
  • Department of Foundations of Education
  • Department of Administration
  • Department of Educational Planning

3. Science and Agriculture

This department offers a variety of programmes in different science programmes with the Department of Agriculture. These departments include:

  • Department of Biochemistry and Microbiology
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Hydrology
  • Department of Environmental Studies
  • Department of Human Movement Science
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Mathematical Science
  • Department of Nursing
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Engineering
  • Department of Science Foundation
  • Department of Consumer Science


How to Apply

The University of Zululand is a contact only university and it admitted 8,751 students in 2007. This total included 8,738 full-time and 13 part-time students. However, the majority of their intake was from South Africa while about 75 were from other SADC countries and 93 students from non-SADC countries. More recently, the statistics show that as of 2018, 17,360 students were admitted into the institution.

Whether you are South African or from other parts of Africa and wish to be enrolled in the University of Zululand for the first time, you are to apply through the Central Applications Office (CAO). The application form must be submitted to the institution in person or online. To obtain or submit your application form online follow the steps below:

1. Go to the University Website

2. Click on Student Zone and select Application forms.

3. From the options, download the form that best suits your application

4. After filling the form, you can either submit online or directly to the school.

NB: An application fee of R220 is paid to the school and for the late submission, applicants would have to pay R400.

See Also: Top 500+ Hospitals In South Africa

The University Of Zululand Contact Details

Main Campus – Kwadlengezwa

1 Main Road Vulindlela
KwaDlangezwa 3886
Tel: +27 35 902 6000
Email: [email protected]

Richards Bay Campus

The Registrar
University of Zululand
Private Bag X1041
Richards Bay
Tel: +27 35 902 6950

Was this article helpful?
  • Was this article helpful?
  • Yes
  • No
Andile Smith
Andile Smith
Andile provides articles on anything from Politics, Sports, History and entertainment to funny, creepy and weird. His passion for writing allows him to take what is ordinary and transform it into a real masterpiece. He's a true storyteller with a passion for tech and literature


Featured Today

Related Stories

error: Content is protected !!