Former Energy Minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson Resigns As ANC MP


South Africa’s former energy minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson has resigned from Parliament.

Joemat-Pettersson’s resignation was confirmed by Parliament spokesperson Moloto Mothapo on Thursday.

This comes in the wake of the resignation of two top African National Congress (ANC) Members of Parliament.

Read Also: National Treasury Director General Lungisa Fizile Resigns

The former minister had cited ill-health as the reason for stepping down, Mothapo disclosed. Her resignation is effective from 31 March.

Her service to the country was terminated following President Jacob Zuma’s shocking/recent cabinet reshuffle on Friday, March 31. Zuma replaced her with Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi.

Tina Joemat-Pettersson is now the third fired cabinet minister to put down the reins, after Dipuo Peters and former finance deputy minister Mcebisi Jonas. Both Jonas and Peters’ resignations were effective from March 31.

She previously served as the Minister of agriculture, forestry, and fisheries from 2009-2014.

The former minister holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and History from the University of the Western Cape and Higher Diploma in Education from the University of the Western Cape.

Meanwhile, former public service and administration minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi said he’s reflecting on whether to resign or not.

Ramatlhodi said on Thursday that he did not know if he would stay or go but expressed happiness that Zuma has removed him from his Cabinet, saying the country is at a crossroads.

“I’m relieved. I think we’re at a crossroads and I hope to keep in mind the interests of the country. I need time to reflect before making a decision. Right now, I’m relaxing and playing my golf,” he said.

Tina Joemat-Pettersson

Ramatlhodi has been South Africa’s Minister of Public Service and Administration since 2015.

Another affected ANC MP Derek Hanekom said he intends staying on as a Member of Parliament (MP).

Hanekom lost his position as South Africa’s tourism minister to his deputy Tokozile Xasa.

Xasa pleaded with South Africans on Friday to give the incoming Cabinet ministers a chance to do good work in their portfolios.

See Also: Ramaphosa Launches Scathing Attack On President Zuma

Meanwhile, ANC chief whip Mthembu has wished all the axed ministers well following their resignations.

President Jacob Zuma wielded an axe to his cabinet just after midnight on last Thursday, appointing ten new ministers and ten new deputy ministers. Five ministers and three deputies lost their jobs while others received new portfolios.

The most controversial but expected of these, was the replacement of Pravin Gordhan with former Home Affairs Minister Malusi Gigaba.