IEC Unveils Date For The Much-Awaited Municipal By-Elections


The SA Independent Electoral Commission has announced dates for the much-anticipated municipal ward by-elections. The electoral body disclosed in a statement that the by-elections will hold in six provinces on November 9.

The statement, released on Tuesday also added that the by-election will be conducted to replace councillors; who had either died or resigned from their positions. The IEC stated that a total of 15 wards would be contested, covering 80 voting districts; containing 93 145 registered voters.

Read also: Everything You Must Know About The 2016 South Africa Election Results

The elections would be held in the Eastern Cape, KwaZulu-Natal, Limpopo, Northern Cape, Mpumalanga and the Western Cape on November 9.

SA Independent Electoral Commission Unveils Wards

Wards being contested in the Eastern Cape include:

Ward 17 in Mbhashe Municipality; Ward 11 in Nkonkobe/Nxuba Municipality ; Ward 7 in Port St Johns Municipality; Ward 26 in the; Mbizana Municipality; Ward 4 in Nelson Mandela Bay; and Ward 14 in Nelson Mandela Bay.

In KwaZulu-Natal, the following wards will be contested:

Ward 1 in Umuziwabantu;Ward 20 in Ladysmith/Waaihoek; Ward 6 in Newcastle

Ward 2 in LIM345 – New Municipality; Ward 10 in Polokwane

Ward 7 in Chief Albert Luthuli; Ward 6 in Victor Khanye

Northern Cape:
Ward 2 in Kgatelopele

Western Cape:
Ward 108 in City of Cape Town

The IEC also encouraged registered voters in the affected wards to ensure that they update their addresses in the coming week through SMS, pamphlet-drops, and outreach activities.

“In terms of the Constitutional Court ruling of June 14, the electoral commission is required to implement Section 16 (3) of the Electoral Act, which requires that voters’ rolls should contain the address of voters ‘where available’, for all by-elections following the 2016 Municipal Elections,” IEC stated.

The SA Independent Electoral Commission also announced that voters in the affected wards can verify and update their registration details and addresses across their respective voting stations from September 17 to September 18. To this effect, the IEC disclosed that the polling stations will also be opened from 8am until 5pm.

See also: ANC Embraces Zuma Once More, Says He’s Not To Blame For Election Failures

Meanwhile, IEC officers will be visiting homes on November 8 for the registration and updates of voters addressed. That same day, special voters, who are unable to apply at their local IEC office will also be attended to. Other voters were, however, urged to check and update their details at their local IEC office during office hours.