University Of Pretoria

The University Of Pretoria (UP) is one of South Africa’s best research universities.

The university produces the highest number of graduates in South Africa annually; it is a multi-faculty institution which is situated around major government departments, foreign missions and research agencies.

UP has seven campuses and collaborates with various top organizations such as the Pretoria Academic Hospital.

Brief History Of The University Of Pretoria

UP never started as the University Of Pretoria, it was earlier known as the Transvaal University College (TUC), which started in 1908. At this time the university only had thirty two students and three lecturers in its system.

Eventually on the 10th of October 1930, a name change was presented by General Jan Smuts; the named passed and TUC became the University of Pretoria. With over 900 students, the university was also the largest higher learning institution in South Africa during the time of the name change.

University Of Pretoria Faculties & Business School

  • Economics and Management Sciences
  • Education
  • Engineering, Built Environment and Information Technology
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Natural and Agricultural Sciences
  • Theology
  • Veterinary Sciences

UP also has a business school: Gordon Institute of Business Science (GIBS)

University Of Pretoria Courses

The University of Pretoria accredits all courses and strives to make the expertise of the University and its staff accessible to the public and the corporate environment via short courses, certificate programmes and similar offerings.

UP scheduled courses are specifically designed to meet the training needs of its broader communities and are open to all prospective delegates throughout the year.

The university constantly schedules in excess of 100 courses during a three-month period. This helps delegates and presents them with the opportunity to pursue a variety of industry-related short courses, while being able to plan ahead and reap the benefits of workplace and professional skills development.

University Of Pretoria Short Courses

The University also offers various Continuing Professional Development Courses, activities and seminars for engineers, educators, veterinarians and medical professionals, among others who need to continuously update their knowledge, acquire CPD points and maintain their professional status through their respective professional bodies.

University Of Pretoria Library

With a number of libraries in various locations and focusing on different faculties; the library of the University of Pretoria is regarded as one of the best university libraries in South Africa.

The library includes:

  • The main library, which includes the learning centre, special collections, library technical services and the following faculty libraries:
  1. Economic & Management Sciences
  2. Natural & Agricultural Sciences
  • Engineering & Built Environment
  1. Humanities (including Music)
  2. Theology
  • Oliver R Tambo Library
  • Education Library (Groenkloof)
  • Mamelodi Library
  • Jotello F Soga Library, and
  • Health Sciennces Libraries
  1. Medical Library
  2. Basic Medical Sciences & Destistry Library
  • Klinikala
  1. Weskoppies, and
  2. Witbank


University Of Pretoria Address & Contacts

  • Main Campus (Hatfield)

Tel: +27 12 420 3111

Address: University of Pretoria, cnr Lynnwood Road and Roper Street, Hatfield 0028, South Africa.

  • Gordon Institute Of Business Science (GIBS)

Tel: +27 11 771 4000

Address: GIBS, 26 Melville Road, Illovo, Johannesburg