Democratic Alliance

The Democratic Alliance (DA) is a political party in South Africa. The DA is a party which consists of various individuals from various parties and movement coming together to achieve the goal of; One Nation with One Future underpinned by Freedom, Fairness and Opportunity for All South Africans.

The DA is currently the opposition party to the governing party (ANC); under the leadership of Mmusi Maimane. The DA is the only party to have grown in voters share in every national election held since 1994 and the party gains support from all main population groups in South Africa.

Democratic Alliance History

The DA was formed in 2000, which was made possible by a merger of the Democratic Party, the Federal Alliance and the New National Party (NNP).

To trace the real history of the Democratic Alliance, we will have to go back to the 1950s, as the real foundation of the DA started then. It all started when some key members decided to leave the United Party; on grounds that the party was not doing enough to fight against the Apartheid policies by the ruling party. This led the group to form an alternate party called the Progressive Party.

Though the Progressive Party was formed in 1959, it eventually rose to become the official opposition party in the 1970s. The party further had some movements of members in and out, causing it to go through a series of name change; from the Progressive Party, to the Progressive Reform Party and eventually the Progressive Federal Party.

The changes within the Progressive Federal Party didn’t stop there, the party eventually merged with two other reformist organisations to become the Democratic Party.

The Six Pillars Of Democratic Alliance Government

  • Opportunity

By focusing on creating a supportive environment for businesses to invest and grow, the DA believes job opportunities can be provided to those in need of jobs; to improve their lives and provide for their families.

  • Responsive Government

The DA government is one that works with the community to find solution to problems faced and turning those problems into opportunities. The DA believes a good government is one that is responsive to the needs of the people; not just making false promises, but listening to what they say.

  • Service Delivery

The Democratic Alliance government makes sure that resources go to those that need them most; by focusing on quality service delivery through: innovative solutions to the challenges faced and managing government spending well.

  • Honest Government

Corruption is one of the fastest ways to run down a country’s economy and its resources, that’s why the DA has zero tolerance for corruption. The DA is committed to a transparent and accountable government through; managing public funds sensibly and eradicating fraud of its cities and towns.

  • Redress

The Democratic Alliance focuses on reflecting South Africa’s rich heritage through communities where its diversity is embraced and celebrated. The DA local governments provide residents with safe, reliable and affordable public transport systems so everyone can benefit from the city and interact in public spaces.

  • Safety

Freedom without safety is meaningless, that is why the DA collaborates and is always on the search for innovative ways to make crime-ridden and deprived communities safer.

DA In Government

The DA which currently controls over 22 municipalities across South Africa has seen a steady growth by voters in areas where the DA governs. Their track record in government has been characterised by a tangible improvement in service delivery and quality of life for all.

DA Governed Municipalities

The DA currently governs thirty seven municipalities and four metros; including: Cape Town, Tshwane, Johannesburg and Nelson Mandela Bay.

New DA-Run Local Governments:

  • Cape Agulhas, Western Cape
  • Cederberg, Western Cape
  • Kouga, Eastern Cape
  • Matzikama, Western Cape
  • Oudtshoorn, Western Cape

New DA-Led Coalition Governments:

  • Beaufort West, Western Cape
  • Johannesburg, Gauteng
  • Metsimaholo, Free State
  • Modimolle/Mookgopong, Limpopo
  • Mogale City, Gauteng
  • Nelson Mandela Bay, Eastern Cape
  • Prince Albert, Western Cape
  • Thabazimbi, Limpopo
  • Tshwane, Gauteng
  • Ubuntu, Northern Cape

In conclusion, the DA-run governments are recognised as one of the best in South Africa by national government and a variety of other agencies.

Page 1 of 212