Bafana Bafana

Bafana Bafana is arguably one of the most famous national football team in Africa.
Bafana Bafana is the nickname given to South Africa’s national football team
The team is currently regulated by the South African Football Association – South Africa’s governing body for football in the country.

Ephraim Mashaba is the team’s current coach. He was appointed in July 2014.
FNB Stadium is currently the team’s home stadium.

In 1924, Bafana Bafana played their first international match. The fixture was against Ireland and South African won the match with two goals to Ireland’s one (2 – 1).
However, they were banned from FIFA because the persistence of apartheid in South Africa.

They finally returned to the international arena in 1992.

In 2010, by hosting the 19th FIFA world cup, South Africa became the first African country to host the FIFA world cup.
They played against Mexico in the opening game. However, they did not make it past the group stage – becoming the first host country in history to exit so early in the competition.

Bafana Bafana’s current biggest achievement was in 1996 when the team won the Africa cup of Nations.

The biggest win in the Country’s history was in 1955, when Bafana Bafana defeated Australia with eight goals to none from Australia (8 – 0).

The biggest loss however occurred more recently in 2014 against Brazil, with Brazil winning by 5 goals to none from South Africa.

The current captain of Bafana Bafana is Itumeleng Khune.

The team’s top scorer is Benni McCarthy while the player with most caps currently is Aaron Mokoena.

The team suffered a great loss when the then captain – Senzo Meyiwa was shot and killed by a robber in 2014. Senzo was also the team’s goal keeper.

He was shot during a robbery in Vosloorus at Kelly Khumalo’s home.
The singer and actress – Kelly Khumalo – was Senzo Meyiwa’s girlfriend at the time.

His death sparked national outrage and was even called a ‘senseless, tragic loss’ by Sepp Blatter –the then FIFA President.
Senzo Meyiwa was laid to rest at Chesterville in the KwaZulu-Natal Province of South Africa.

Kaizer Chiefs

The Kaizer Chiefs is a South African football club based in Johannesburg.
Kaizer Chiefs is one of the clubs that play in South Africa’s Premier Soccer Club.

A common nickname for the Kaizer Chiefs is ‘Amakhosi’ which is the Zulu word for ‘chiefs’.
The team’s colors are black and gold.

The club was founded by Kaizer Motaung and is currently managed by Steve komphela.
It is South Africa’s most successful football club, having won the league championships twelve times. It also has over 20 million supporters.

Some of the most influential players in Bafana Bafana who played for the Kaizer chiefs include Neil Tovey (Mokoko), Steve Kompela, Lucas Radebe (Rhoo), Doctor Khumalo (16 Valve), Patrick Ntsoelengoe (Ace) and John Moshoeu (Shoes).

The team has also garnered fans internationally.
British Pop and Indie music band – Kaiser Chiefs, is actually named after the team as Lucas Radabe (a former Kaizer Chief Player) was the captain of Leeds United at the time, and the members of the band supported Leeds United.

They are also noted for their rivalry with Orlando Pirates.

Orlando Pirates

The Orlando Pirates FC is another Premier Soccer League club in South Africa.
It is presently one of the oldest clubs having been founded in 1937; back then it was called ‘Orlando Boys Club’.

The club’s colors are black and red.
They’ve gained several nicknames over the years, some of which include: Buccaneers, Sea Robbers and Ezimnyama Ngenkani (The black ones).

The Orlando Pirates are also the first club to ever win three major cups in a single season one after the other since the beginning of the Premier Soccer League.

They won the Nedbank Cup, the domestic league and the MTN 8 during the 2010-2011 season.
For the 2011-2012 season, they won the MTN 8, Telkom Knockout and domestic league.

They won the CAF champions league in 1995, making them the only South African club to have ever won.

The current coach for the Orlando Pirates is Muhsin Ertugral while the chairman is Irvin Khooza.

Some of the most legendary players in Bafana Bafana who also played for the Orlando Pirates include the current coach of Bafana Bafana – Ephraim Mashaba; the founder of Kaizer Chiefs – Kaizer Motaung; and the late captain of Bafana Bafana – Senzo Meyiwa.