African Christian Democratic Party

The African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) is a political party governed by Christian believes and principles. The party aims at making South Africa a strong, healthy prosperous and purpose-driven nation.

Though this is a Christian party, it promises to protect freedom of religion and improve the lives of all South Africans; through reliable, trustworthy leaders. The ACDP was founded in 1993 and is lead by Kenneth Meshoe.

ACDP Policies

The African Christian Democratic Party aims at restoring integrity and investor confidence by eradicating the nation’s inequality, unemployment, poverty, corruption, crime and violence. The party understands that; by improving the country’s standard of education and health care, some of these policies would be made easier to achieve.

The party is strongly against abortion, homosexuality and pornography. With regards to this, the party was the only party to vote against the current version of the South African Constitution; due to the fact that it accommodated abortion and protection of other sexual orientation.

ACDP South African Elections

The African Christian Democratic Party won two seats in the national government during its first election. At that time they were one of the smallest party in the national government, but in 1999 they won seven seats and became the sixth largest party in Parliament.

Between 1999 and 2008 the ACDP began to grow in strength; winning more seats and becoming more influential. Sadly in the 2009 elections, the ACDP lost about half of its supporters and this has since affected the party till date.

South African Political Parties

South Africa currently has thirteen political parties as listed below:

  1. African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP)
  2. African Independent Congress (AIC)
  3. African National Congress (ANC)
  4. African Peoples’ Convention (APC)
  5. Agang South Africa (Agang)
  6. Congress Of The People (COPE)
  7. Democratic Alliance (DA)
  8. Economic Freedom Fighters (EFF)
  9. Freedom Front Plus (FF+)
  10. Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP)
  11. National Freedom Party (NFP)
  12. Pan Africanist Congress (PAC)
  13. United Democratic Movement (UDM)

ACDP Leaders

  • Dr. Kenneth Meshoe – ACDP President

Dr. Kenneth is a pastor and political leader who started off as a teacher. He is the founder of the African Christian Democratic Party, believing that Christians should be in a position of leadership in order to create the much needed change the country needs.

He is also a Reverend at the Hope Of Glory Tabernacle, which Rev. Kenneth and his wife successfully run; with a capacity of four thousand people.

Tel: +27 11 869 3941

Email: [email protected]

  • Wayne M. Thring – ACDP Deputy President

Wayne M. Thring joined the ACDP in 1995, after which he was elected to the position of Deputy Chairman and eventually to the position of Chairman in 1997. He remained the Chairman for over ten years, after which he became the Provincial Leader in KZN and he is currently the ACDP Deputy President.

Tel: +27 31 464 6704

Email: [email protected]


  • Jo-Ann Downs – NEC Chairman

Jo-Ann was the former chairperson of the KZN Public Accounts committee; she is also one of the oldest members of the party and has found herself in various roles within the party. She was eventually elected as the National Chairman in 2010.

Tel: +27 83 254 4167

Email: [email protected]

  • Mokhethi Raymond Thaeli – NEC Secretary General

Mokhethi Raymond who holds the following qualifications: JSTC, SED, Diploma in Education Development, Management, Administration and BA in Education & Psychology; is an Educator by profession. He joined the ACDP in 1995 and has since been actively involved with the party.

Tel: +27 11 869 3941

Email: [email protected]


  • Dr Kenneth Meshoe
  • Cheryllyn Dudley
  • Steve Swart