Minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi Warns About Scam On His Facebook Timeline


The South African Public Service and Administration Minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi issued a prior warning to the public on Tuesday to be very cautious about reading and responding to enticing posts on his personal Facebook account as they are tagged scam and not from him.

See Also: Anonymous Hackers Vow To Expose All SA Government’s Hidden Corruption

Minister Ngoako Ramatlhodi discovered that his account had been hacked after he discovered that some unknown individuals had posted an update to his Facebook timeline on his behalf.

The post that was written on his timeline had promises of a grant from the United Kingdom-based European Development Fund‚ which funds development projects in the southern part of Africa such as education‚ rural development‚ employment creation and agriculture among others.

With regards to the recent craze going on in the social media, Ngoako Ramatlhodi has warned social network users especially the social media addicts who are quick to believe everything they see and read on social media be more careful.

These criminals invade the social media claiming the personality of a public figure in order to use the medium to deceive unsuspecting and vulnerable persons with promises of opportunities to make easy money, get contracts, jobs among other things.

Meanwhile, some group of anonymous hackers are fed up with the ways things are being done in Africa – the corruption, poverty, unemployment and all that.

See Also: SA Ranks As World’s Worst In Economic Crimes But Has Failed To Fight It

The group have decided to help turn things around by taking the laws into their hands, and have informed that they will be using their computer tech whiz guys to circumvent security and break into every shady network and files of “corporations and governments that enable and perpetuate corruption on the African continent.”

The faceless hackers in what they tagged “Operation Africa” (#OpAfrica) listed the South African government in their “first target list” which includes other nations like Rwanda, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Sudan and South Sudan Governments.