Men’s ODI Team Rankings: If You Missed It, Proteas Are Now Leading The Pack


The Standard Bank Proteas are currently, enthroned at the No. 1 position of the Men’s ODI Team rankings. Proteas gained the position after they completed their back-to back five-match series successes.

In the final Momentum ODI on Friday, the Proteas bagged an 88-run victory over Sir Lanka.

The victory was enabled by Quinton De Kock and Hashim Amla. They both scored centuries and shared an opening stand of 187.

Their performance didn’t only aid the 88-run victory over Sri Lanka; it helped the Proteas claim the No. 1 spot for Men’s ODI Team Rankings.

As it happened, De Kock made 109 off 87 balls with 16 fours. Amla made 154 off 134 balls with 15 fours and 5 sixes. Essentially, their partnership was the highest opening stand against Sri Lanka.

Read Also: Rabada Is Now South Africa’s Highest-ranked Bowler

While Amla was named Momentum Man of the Match, Faf du Plessis was crowned the Momentum Man of the Series.

Finishing with an aggregate of more than 400 runs and two centuries, he equaled the achievement of Amla in two previous series against the West Indies for a five-match series.

Already, Cricket South Africa (CSA) has congratulated the Proteas for taking the No.1 spot in Men’s ODI Team Rankings as seen below.

Position Team Matches Points Ratings
1 South Africa 57 6,773 119
2 Australia 61 7,227 118
3 New Zealand 54 6,110 113
4 India 56 6,261 112
5 England 57 6,090 107
6 Sri Lanka 65 6,392 98
7 Bangladesh 33 3,019 91
8 Pakistan 56 5,005 89
9 West Indies 37 3,168 86
10 Afghanistan 26 1,341 52
11 Zimbabwe 50 2,409 48
12 Ireland 20 834 42


Speaking, CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat remarked that it has been a year without parallel in the history of SA ODI cricket.

“It is almost exactly a year to the day (February 9, 2016) when the team started their current run of success that has seen them win a record 14 ODIs in a row on home soil.

This impressive run shows the sustained excellence they have brought to their game with many individual and team highlights.

Winning clean sweep series is a relatively rare occurrence and to do it twice in a row against the likes of Australia and Sri Lanka, both former World Cup champions, is a fantastic achievement.”

Lorgat added that the “fantastic achievement” augurs well for the forthcoming tours to New Zealand, England, and the ICC Champions Trophy.

“Many congratulations are due to captain AB de Villiers, stand-in captain Faf du Plessis, head coach Russell Domingo and all the players and management.

“Du Plessis achieved the outstanding feat of becoming the second Protea after Hashim Amla to score 400 runs in a five-match ODI Series and he deserves congratulations for that too,” Lorgat further remarked.

See Also: Joost van der Westhuizen, SA Rugby Legend Dies At 45 – Facts To Know

Meanwhile, CSA retained the 14-man Proteas squad that won the Momentum ODI Series against Sri Lanka for the upcoming tour of New Zealand that consists of one T20 International match and five One-Day International matches.

However, Dane Paterson was added to the squad to replace Dwaine Pretorius for the T20 International and the first ODI.

BuzzSouthAfrica learnt that Pretorius will miss the two matches because he’ll be at home to assist his wife who is expecting their first child.

He traveled with the squad when they left on Saturday but, will return to South Africa once Dwaine joins the squad.

Commenting, CSA selection chief, Linda Zondi said: “we, as selectors are very happy with the way the squad has jelled over the past 6 months and consistency in selection is very important as we continue our build-up towards the ICC Champions Trophy tournament.

“New Zealand are playing very good cricket at the moment and as always will provide very tough opposition, particularly under their home conditions,” added Zondi.

Check Out: Blitzboks’ Sydney Sevens Win – Senatla Presses Pause On Sevens Career

Below are the players selected for the New Zealand tour:

  1. AB de Villiers (Multiply Titans, ODI capt)
  2. Faf du Plessis (Multiply Titans, T20 capt)
  3. Hashim Amla (BuildNat Cape Cobras)
  4. Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans)
  5. Quinton de Kock (Multiply Titans)
  6. JP Duminy (BuildNat Cape Cobras)
  7. Imran Tahir (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)
  8. David Miller (VKB Knights)
  9. Chris Morris (Multiply Titans)
  10. Wayne Parnell (BuildNat Cape Cobras)
  11. Dane Paterson (BuildNat Cape Cobras)
  12. Andile Phehlukwayo (Hollywoodbets Dolphins)
  13. Dwaine Pretorius (bizhub Highveld Lions)
  14. Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions)
  15. Tabraiz Shamsi (Multiply Titans).