Late Night Cabinet Reshuffle: ‘Fire Yourself Zuma’ – Celebs React To The Friday Morning Surprise


South Africans woke up to the news that several changes have been made in the cabinet following a late night cabinet reshuffle.

In a much anticipated cabinet reshuffle, South African president Jacob Zuma slammed his axe on Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan among other changes.

Expectedly, the news was met with mixed feelings, leading to an uproar on social media. Consequently, local celebs weighed in on the implications the changes have in store for South Africa.

Boity Thulo, Maps Maponyane, DJ Black Coffee and Siv Ngesi added their voices to the debate;

TV presenter Siv Ngesi took the debate personal when a follower tried to blame the reshuffle on race.

He also accused other South African celebrities of keeping quiet while such a drama is going on in the country. In addition, Siv pointed out that the person who has been appointed Deputy Minister of Police following the late night cabinet reshuffle is the same man who suggested that a building be burnt down regardless of the fact that that people would get hurt.

The announcement made last night confirmed that Zuma is fearless and will always have his way. He did not give a hoot about what this might do to the rand and the fact that analysts warned of far-reaching consequences for the ANC, South Africa and the economy.

Read More: Gordhan’s Axing: Here’re The Details Of The New Ministers Zuma Appointed

Much to everyone’s chagrin, Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan got the axe and Malusi Gigaba who was Minister of Home Affairs was put in his place.

Explaining the dramatic reshuffling, Zuma said it was for the greater good;

“I have decided to make changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness. The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy, experience and expertise.”

The new ministers are as follows;

1. Minister of Energy, Ms Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi

2. Minister of Transport, Mr Joe Maswanganyi

3. Minister of Finance, Mr Malusi Gigaba

4. Minister of Police, Mr Fikile Mbalula

5. Minister of Public Works, Mr Nathi Nhleko

6. Minister of Sports and Recreation, Mr Thembelani Nxesi

7. Minister of Tourism, Ms Tokozile Xasa

8. Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Faith Muthambi

9. Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize 10. Minister of Communications, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo