Court Dissolves KZN ANC’s PEC Ahead Of National Conference


KZN ANC’s PEC: A Pietermaritzburg High Court ruling has effectively dissolved the KwaZulu-Natal ANC’s Provincial Executive Committee (PEC).

Presiding over the judgment‚ Judge Rishi Seegobin‚ scrapped the elective process ahead of the party’s conference. The court also granted an application for leave to appeal, brought by the provincial executive committee of the ANC, led by chairperson Sihle Zikalala. Consequently, the committee can petition the Supreme Court of Appeal and the Constitutional Court over its dissolution.

According to the judgement, the KZN ANC’s PEC would remain dissolved‚ until the appeal was filed.

Read Also: ANC Presidential Race: Expect A New Leader On Sunday

A PEC member said plans are in place to send in an appeal on Friday before the start of the conference. The court ruling comes just hours before the party’s national elective conference would convene in Johannesburg this weekend.

Notably, the provincial leadership of the African National Congress had applied for leave to appeal a September ruling of the same court. The ruling at the time declared the elective conference held in 2015 null and void and as the PEC scrambled to appeal the judgement‚ the original applicants applied for an enforcement order‚ which successfully ran the standing PEC out of office.

The previous application was made by aggrieved KZN ANC members who legally challenged the results of the party’s 2015 provincial conference and won.

Meanwhile, Judge Rishi Seegobin’s ruling that KZN PEC remains dissolved, pending the outcome of the appeal to the Supreme Court of Appeal and any subsequent appeal to the Constitutional Court spells doom for presidential hopeful Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma who has the support of the PEC.

Also Read: Eskom Looting: Zuma, Duduzane, Guptas Slapped With Lawsuit

This means she will lose the PEC’s 27 voting rights allocated to each province for the ANC’s national elective conference.

The KZN committee members can only attend the conference as observers or as branch delegates if elected by their branches to represent them at the conference.