Idols SA Top 10: Meet The Survivors Of A Tough Elimination Process


Amid pounding hearts and tensed atmosphere, the Idols SA top 10 for the Season 13 was announced during a ceremony in Pretoria.

The atmosphere in the State Theatre in Pretoria last weekend was tense as viewers and contestants held their braeths and waited for the result of the elimination episode. Subsequently, 10 out of 16 Idols SA contestants were called to continue the race, leaving 6 contestants to lick their wounds.

While viewers voted for eight, the judges ruled on the last two to complete the top 10 contestants.

Also See: 2017 Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards: All The Winners

Paxton, who is the youngest from the first group that performed for votes two weeks back was the first to be called to move to the top 10 corner. Paxton was followed by Phindy, Faith and Thokozile, who took the performance of the night title.

The rest of the members in group one – Gugu Zulu, Lindo, Christo and Blessed were then left at the mercy of the judges with their 2 wild card selections.

Going over to group two, Proverb announced Mthokozisi, Botlhale as the first two to make it to the top 10. The two were later joined by Thapelo and Tee, completing the top 8 selected by viewers.

Consequently, Gabi, Hadassah, Basetsana and Minnie joined the other four in the waiting room which has a more tensed atmosphere hovering around it because out of the eight contestants in the waiting room, only two could be saved by the judges

When the deciding moment came, the judges saved Lindo and Christo, rounding off the top 10.

Speaking from experience, Idols SA judge Randall admonished the top 10 to grab the opportunity and make it count. “After 12 seasons, you can’t forget just what an impact Idols has. Grab this opportunity with both hands and make it work for you!”

Also See: Trevor Noah Bags His First Emmy: All The Winners At 2017 Creative Arts Awards

Meet Idols SA Top 10 for season 13

  1. Botlhale Phora from GaRankuwa
  2. Thapelo Esau from Vosloorus
  3. Tee Xaba from Durban
  4. Paxton Fielies from Cape Town
  5. Thokozile Ndimande from Soshanguve
  6. Mthokozisi Ndaba from Kwamashu
  7. Phindi Dube from Amanzimtoti
  8. Faith Msibi from Emalahleni
  9. Christo Daniels from Port Elizabeth
  10. Lindokuhle Sithole from Centurion