Gordhan’s Axing: Here’re The Details Of The New Ministers Zuma Appointed


Gordhan’s axing has shown that President Jacob Zuma is a fearless man who will always have his way.

Irrespective of the many agitations against the intent to do away with Mr Pravin Gordhan as the Minister of Finance, Jacob Zuma made Gordhan’s axing possible.

Don’t wonder why he’s fearless about the repercussions of Gordhan’s axing. True, many South Africans are on Gordhan’s side. But then, Mr Zuma isn’t alone, he’s backed by the strength of the ANC Youth League.

See Also – Jacob Zuma Impeachment: DA Joins EFF, Says Parliament Must Fire Mr Zuma

If you missed it, the ANC Youth League proclaimed that they will continue to rally behind President Zuma until the ANC Conference in December 2017 and the 2019 General Elections. In a statement, the Youth League said:

“We want to state it categorically that the ANC Youth League will remain the Family of President Zuma. He is welcomed all the time as a father figure and a struggle icon who played a big role to liberate this country in the ANC Youth League.

We reiterate our support for the President fully and unconditionally…We are calling on the President to continue discharging his duties unabated (including rearranging and strengthening his cabinet).”

Now, Daddy Zuma has dismissed the Minister of Finance, Pravin Gordhan and his deputy, Mcebesi Jonas. In his capacity as the President of South Africa, he appointed new Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

Explaining his decision, Daddy Zuma said:

“I have decided to make changes to the National Executive in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness.

The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy, experience and expertise.

I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality.”

BuzzSouthAfrica has been informed that the swearing-in ceremony for the new Ministers will take place today, 31 March 2017 at the Sefako Makgatho Presidential Guest House in Pretoria.

Meanwhile, Ministers serving in other portfolios as well as serving Deputy Ministers who are taking up responsibilities in new portfolios won’t take part in the swearing-in ceremony.

The new members are the following;


1. Minister of Energy, Ms Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi
2. Minister of Transport, Mr Joe Maswanganyi
3. Minister of Finance, Mr Malusi Gigaba
4. Minister of Police, Mr Fikile Mbalula
5. Minister of Public Works, Mr Nathi Nhleko,
6. Minister of Sports and Recreation, Mr Thembelani Nxesi
7. Minister of Tourism, Ms Tokozile Xasa
8. Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Faith Muthambi
9. Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize
10. Minister of Communications, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo

Read Also – Zuma Impeachment: Malema Wants The People To Take A Shot At It This Time

Deputy Ministers

1. Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
2. Deputy Minister of Finance, Mr Sifiso Buthelezi
3. Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Mr Ben Martins
4. Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Ms Maggie Sotyu
5. Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Mr Gratitude Magwanishe
6. Deputy Minister of Communications, Ms Thandi Mahambehlala,
7. Deputy Minister of Tourism, Ms Elizabeth Thabethe
8. Deputy Minister of Police, Mr Bongani Mkongi
9. Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Ms Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams
10. Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Ms Nomathemba November.

President Zuma extended his gratitude to the outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to the country and, wished the new ones the best in their new responsibilities.

Topics: > >