Dlamini Bathabile Crowned Most Incompetent Minister For 2017


The Democratic Alliance (DA), on Monday, crowned Social Development Minister Dlamini Bathabile the most incompetent member of cabinet for 2017.

According to DA’s annual government report card, where the official opposition critiques the ANC’s performance, Dlamini earned herself an ‘F’ and was singled out as the worst performer.

See Also: SACP Will Not Endorse Any Of ANC Presidential Candidates

Speaking during the release of the card outside the Union Buildings, DA leader Mmusi Maimane said the controversial minister was highly degraded because the way she’s handling of the South African Social Security Agency (Sassa) contract with Cash Paymaster Services (CPS) grants payments saga.

Nevertheless, the opposition party it hopes to see concerned authorities to set up a commission of inquiry to determine Dlamini’s roles in SASSA saga.

“How do you entrust the livelihood of 17 million people with someone who can’t even be bothered to come to Parliament and would rather stay at the Oyster Box at over R10,000 per night?” Maimane asked.

Social Minister Dlamini Bathabile has been in the spotlight over her handling of the social grants system following Sassa and the Post Office current deadlock on an offer for the Post Bank to provide a payment system. This led to the opposition accusing her of deliberately misleading Parliament on the matter.

According to a recent report, however, the Post office is due to take over grants payments and is expected to build a new integrated IT system for Sassa grants.

As expected, President Zuma also received an F from the party, which accused him of misleading and deceiving the people.

“This is a president who in Parliament could not even answer how much he spends on his legal fees because he is trying to hide that fact because he is sponsoring his colleague, his friend Shaun Abrahams,” the opposition party leader alleged.

Read: The full list of ministers and their scores:

  • Senzeni Zokwana – Agriculture, Forestry & Fisheries (F)
  • Nathi Mthethwa – Arts & Culture (F)
  • Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula – Defence & Military Veterans (D)
  • Ebrahim Patel – Economic Development (C)
  • Edna Molewa – Environmental Affairs (E)
  • Ayanda Dlodlo – Home Affairs (E)
  • Michael Masutha – Justice & Constitutional Development (F)
  • Mildred Oliphant – Labour(F)
  • Jeff Radebe – Presidency (D)
  • Faith Muthambi – Public Service and Administration (F)
  • Nathi Nhleko – Public Works (F)
  • Gugile Nkwinti – Rural Development & Land Reform (F)
  • Naledi Pandor – Science & Technology (C)
  • Lindiwe Zulu – Small Business Development (E)
  • Thulas Nxesi – Sport & Recreation (D)
  • Siyabonga Cwele – Telecommunications and Postal Services (E)
  • Tokozile Xasa – Tourism (D)
  • Rob Davies – Trade & Industry (E)
  • Susan Shabangu – Women in the Presidency (F)