Western Cape DA: The Race For New Leadership Comes To An End


Later today, the Democratic Alliance (DA) will have to choose between Kraaifontein ward Councillor Grant Twigg and incumbent leader Shaun August in the race for the next leader of the party’s metro.

DA’s new leadership in the Western Cape is set to be announced when more than 200 delegates gather for the party’s Western Cape Metro Regional Congress in Cape Town today. The race which is between Grant Twigg and Shaun August seems to be a tough one as the winner of the coveted position is likely to be a front-runner as the city’s next mayor.

Read Also: President Zuma Slams Opposition Parties, Says They Have Nothing To Offer

While Twigg has been using the simple slogan “I offer fair leadership” during his campaign on social media, August has opted for “Asijiki.”

Twigg’s long-serving role as a Councillor with many years of experience sort of makes him a qualified candidate for the position. However, August is seen as a staunch supporter of Cape Town mayor Patricia de Lille.

Other positions to be filled in the party include deputy chairperson, a position which Western Cape Legislature Speaker Sharna Fernandez and mayco members JP Smith and Anda Ntsodo are vying for.

Back in August, Western Cape Premier Helen Zille was asked to leave the Western Cape legislature after she refused to withdraw an unparliamentary comment about an ANC MP.

Provincial speaker, Sharma Fernandez, had asked the DA premier to withdraw her fraud allegation against ANC MPL Sharon Davids but she resisted, leading to her removal.

Zille is said to have attacked Sharon for heckling at DA provincial leader Bonginkosi Madikizela while he was delivering his speech in the House.

Read Also: BLF Takes Action Against Economic Terrorist Johann Rupert

Zille’s response when Sharon called her a rude woman was: “Davids has been running a commentary reflecting on the integrity of [Madikizela]. [She] has a prima facie charge against her of fraud against this house.”

Subsequently, she was asked to withdraw the fraud claim but she refused. She was then kicked out by the Provincial speaker, Sharma Fernandez.