Cyril Ramaphosa To Succeed Zuma As ANC President – Survey Reveals


Ahead of the ANC elective conference, nominations for ANC leadership have started in full force with aspiring candidates indicating their readiness to lead the ruling party.

So far, seven candidates have indicated interest to take over the reins from President Jacob Zuma. This soaring number of aspirants is said to be the highest number in the history of ANC.

While it lies on the shoulders of delegates at the elective congress to determine who succeeds President Zuma, a recent analytical survey shows Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa enjoys a winning position and could become the next leader of the ruling African National Congress.

See Also: Ramaphosa Advised To Remain Silent Over Sex Scandal

The 26 analysts who participated in the poll were brought together by Bloomberg and are said to be a group of political science professors and lecturers from eight South African universities.

The outcome showed that sixteen out of the 26 picked Ramaphosa as an eligible successor, five of them adopted former AU chairperson Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, one analyst settled for Minister in the Presidency Jeff Radebe while the remaining indicated that it’s still early and impossible to select a successor.

The survey was reportedly conducted on September 12 and 13.

There are many predictions about the ANC 2017 elective conference currently flying around in the country. But we were reliably informed that the ANC 54th National Conference will take place from the 16th to the 20th December 2017 in Gauteng.

ANC Presidential Aspirants

Principal contestants are Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma and Cyril Ramaphosa. Dlamini-Zuma, 68, is qualified as a medical doctor and has served as minister of health, foreign affairs, and home affairs before she left to head the AU Commission in 2012.

Ramaphosa, 64, is a lawyer who co-founded the National Union of Mineworkers. He also played prominent roles in negotiating a peaceful end to apartheid and led the drafting of South Africa’s first democratic constitution.

The Soweto-born politician lost out to Thabo Mbeki in the contest to succeed Nelson Mandela as president in 1999. Following the defeat, he delved into business, amassing a fortune for himself.

He made his political comeback in 2012 as a full-time politician, after which he was elected the deputy president of the ruling party.

Others aspirants are Jeff Radebe, the Minister in the Presidency, as well as South Africa’s longest continuously serving Cabinet member in every national administration since 1994. Jeff is also a long-standing leader of the SACP.

Baleka Mbete, the speaker of Parliament and President Zuma’s staunch supporter. Zweli Mkhize, the ANC’s treasurer-general who announced last week that he’s ready to lead and would accept nomination from branch structures.

Mathews Phosa, a former premier of Mpumalanga and former treasurer general, and lastly, Human Settlements Minister Lindiwe Sisulu. Lindiwe is the daughter of struggle stalwarts Walter and Albertina Sisulu and the sister of Max Sisulu – the former national speaker of Parliament.

Check Out: Mduduzi Manana Pleads Guilty To Assault Charges

Cyril Ramaphosa, who is currently dealing with an allegation of sexual scandal, has the support of both Cosatu and the SACP while Zuma’s ex-wife is supported by two other Zuma cronies – the ANC Women’s League and the ANC Youth League.