Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Fourth Ballon d’Or


Reports from Spain have declared Real Madrid forward, Cristiano Ronaldo the winner of 2016 Ballon d’Or.

BuzzSouthAfrica gathered that Barcelona-based newspaper – Mundo Deportivo – reported that the Real Madrid superstar will win the most prestigious individual honour in football for 2016.

Mundo Deportivo pointed out that Ronaldo is the favourite player to walk away with the 2016 Ballon d’Or as he massively helped Real Madrid win the Champions League last season, and, helped his country – Portugal – triumph at Euro 2016 in France.

Read Also: Blitzboks Vows to Extend Dubai Win In Cape Town

Adding that Ronaldo faced stiff competition from Messi and his team Luis Suarez – who scored 59 goals in 53 games for Barcelona last season -, the newspaper asserted that Ronaldo has already been chosen as the winner.

Reporting this, Mail Online related that a Spanish journalist, Francesc Aguilar, reported that France Football – the newspaper which first founded the award – will fly to Madrid on Thursday to conduct an interview with the Real Madrid forward.

Afterwards, he will be announced the winner the next Monday evening after which the interview will be published.

France Football is the sole organiser of the prize following a split after the last FIFA Ballon d’Or was awarded to Messi in 2015. France Football partnership with FIFA ended and restored the previous formats of their respective awards.

See Also: Colombia Plane Crash: Ronaldinho Offers To Play for Chapecoense

It was in October that France Football unveiled a 30-man shortlist for the 2016 Ballon d’Or. If you missed it, you can check out the full list of the nominees below.

  1. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  2. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund)
  3. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid)
  4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
  6. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City)
  7. Paulo Dybala (Juventus)
  8. Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)
  9. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  10. Gonzalo Higuain (Juventus)
  11. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United)
  12. Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
  13. Koke (Atletico Madrid)
  14. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid)
  15. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)
  16. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur)
  17. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
  18. Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  19. Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  20. Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich)
  21. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich)
  22. Neymar (Barcelona)
  23. Dimitri Payet (West Ham)
  24. Pepe (Real Madrid)
  25. Paul Pogba (Manchester United)
  26. Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon)
  27. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid)
  28. Luis Suarez (Barcelona)
  29. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
  30. Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich)