Countries In Southern Africa: Facts You Should Know

Africa is one of the largest continents in the world with over 50 different countries. It is subdivided into various regions: Northern Africa which is constituted by countries like Egypt, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya; the western region of Africa include countries like Nigeria, Ghana, Mali, Niger, Togo etc.

Countries that occupy the eastern part of Africa include Kenya, Ethiopia, Somalia, Tanzania etc and, Central Africa is made up of countries like Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Cameroon, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea etc.

Countries in South Africa is the part that often brings confusion. There are several countries in Southern Africa just like in every other African region. Such countries include Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, Swaziland and South Africa (which is a country within southern Africa).

A lot of people often think that South Africa has other countries within it; but that’s not true, South Africa is the main hub among the Southern African countries.

South Africa is just one country in the southern part of Africa. Geographically, Lesotho is an African country located right inside South Africa forming an enclave (an independent country that is completely landlocked by another) and is the only independent African country to have such attribute. Apart from Lesotho, there are only 2 more landlocked nations in the world – The Republic of San Marino which is enclaved within Italy and The Vatican City, which is enclaved within the city of Rome.

Classification of Countries in South Africa

Southern Africa - countries in south africa
Map of Southern Africa

There are 2 major classifications for countries in Southern Africa

The United Nations classification and that of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) which is an inter-governmental agency headquartered in Gaborone, Botswana with the sole purpose of fostering socio-economic integration and growth among the member states. One may consider it as a smaller version of the African Union.

United Nations Recognition of Countries in South Africa

According to the United Nations, there are 5 different countries that make-up Southern Africa. They include:

1. South Africa

2. Namibia

3. Lesotho

4. Botswana

5. Swaziland

These countries constitute the geographic mapping of South African countries according to the United Nations. This is also the classification used by the Southern African Customs Union (SACU) which was established in 1969 to replace the customs union of 1910 making it the oldest existing customs union in the world.

How To Apply For A UK Visa In South Africa

Southern African Development Community (SADC) Classification of South African Countries

According to Southern African Development Community (SADC), 15 countries constitute the South African region. The countries include the following:

1. Angola

2. Namibia

3. Mozambique

4. Tanzania

5. Swaziland

6. Seychelles

7. South Africa

8. Mauritius

9. Zambia

10. Zimbabwe

11. Botswana

12. The Democratic Republic of the Congo

13. Lesotho

14. Madagascar

15. Malawi

Sometimes, the 2 major islands (Madagascar and Mauritius) are regarded as countries in East Africa.

See Also: Tribes of South Africa

The Economy of South African Region

Southern Africa is endowed with natural resources like gold, platinum and diamond but just like other countries in Africa, corruption and the bane of colonialism has shaped this region into what it is today.

Among all the countries in Southern Africa, South Africa is the economic superpower, the main centre of economic activity and development. South Africa’s GDP is more than those of all other countries in this region put together.

Southern African People, History and Culture

South African history

Various countries in South Africa have various people who adopt different cultures. Through the years of migration, colonization, and resettlement in Southern African history, the cultures of this region have changed quite a lot resulting in a significant population of European (Afrikaners, Anglo-Africans, Portuguese Africans, etc.) and Asian descent (Cape Malays, Indian South Africans, etc.) in many southern African countries.

The Bantu expansion pushed the former occupants of the region to the more remote areas and this is the reason most of the ethnic groups in this region speak languages which share common Bantu language origin and include the people of ZuluXhosa, Northern Ndebele, Swazi, Ovimbundu, Chaga, Southern Ndebele, Tswana, Sotho, Balunda, Mbundu, Sukuma and Shona.

Was this article helpful?
Andile Smith
Andile Smith
Andile provides articles on anything from Politics, Sports, History and entertainment to funny, creepy and weird. His passion for writing allows him to take what is ordinary and transform it into a real masterpiece. He's a true storyteller with a passion for tech and literature
data-matched-content-rows-num="2" data-matched-content-columns-num="4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">


Dissecting Yolanda Mvelase’s Age and The Love Story That Made Her Kwesta’s Wife

Everyone loves to hear a good love story, especially, one with a happy ending which seems to be the case for -year-old Yolanda Mvelase...

Sordid Details Of Thabile Dube’s Time as Benjamin Dube’s Wife

Thabile Dube is a beautiful, vibrant, and hard-working woman who is best considered the Dube ministry's first lady. She used to be a huge...

Revelations About Busiswa’s Child, Baby Daddy and Physical Abuse Scandal

In 2019, Busiswa Gqulu, and her baby daddy, Katlego Mlangeni, were in the news but not for a good reason. There were stories about...

A Full Look At Nomcebo Zikode’s New Songs and Musical Career So Far

Nomcebo Zikode is one South African musician who has held the world spellbound with her strong musical sense, especially in the viral song Jerusalama,...

These Facts Will Tell You All About TV Personality Rorisang Thandekiso

Rorisang Thandekiso is a disciplined, smart, and beautiful young woman whose life story is a huge inspiration to youths. Despite starting off as a...

Featured Today

Things to Do On Gumtree Durban Including Jobs, Car Rentals & Property

Zandile Msutwana’s Real Age and Her Affair With Another Woman’s Husband

Zandile Msutwana is no stranger to anyone who has been following the South African movie industry. The actress rose to fame in the second...

How to Sign Up to Showmax Subscription Packages, Their Prices and How To Cancel

Showmax is a video-on-demand streaming service that allows subscribers to have access to a wide range of TV series, movies, kids' shows, and documentaries...

Revelations About Edwin Sodi’s Birthplace, Biography and Early Influences

Edwin Sodi is one of the many South African millionaires who need no form of introduction as not only has his wealth put him...

How Much Is Showmax Per Month and Is It Better Than Netflix?

It is absolutely normal for anyone to choose the best at the cheapest and most affordable rates among many offers. With so many videos-on-demand...

How Bob Mabena’s Wife Eucharist Hadebe Is Faring Since His Demise

It is difficult to fathom what it must be like for Eucharist Hadebe to grieve her beloved husband's death, considering that they both were...
Was this article helpful?

Related Stories