114 Countries South Africans Can Travel To Without A Visa

Do you know that with South African passport, you can now visit these 114 countries around the world visa-free or visa on arrival? There are a number of countries that require that South Africans secure visa before they are allowed into the country which in most cases, leads to endless paperwork, unplanned spending and more bureaucratic stress. However, it is important that you are aware that your South African passport is more than you think of it in terms of what it can do as it can grant you entry to quite a number of countries without visa but note that entry requirements change constantly so it is always advisable to check with the embassy of any country close to the time of your travel. Nonetheless, as of now, here is a comprehensive list of countries for which no prior visa arrangement is needed for entry if you are a South African with a South African Passport:

Countries South Africans can visit without a Visa?

Due to the good international relationship between South Africa and several other countries, you would not be wrong to expect an ample number of countries to be on the list below:

Brazil – 90 days

Antigua and Barbuda – 1 month

Argentina – 90 days

Costa Rica – 90 days


Vanuatu – 30 days


Don’t Miss: 30 Pictures that Prove South Africa is the Craziest Place on Earth

Barbados – 6 months

Chile – 90 days


Venezuela – 90 days

Benin – 30 days

Haiti – 3 months

Botswana – 90 days

Guyana – 3 months

Saint Kitts and Nevis – 3 months

Nepal – 90 days


Ecuador – 90 days

Dominica – 6 months

Colombia – 180 days

See Also: How to Apply for US Visa from South Africa and How to Apply for Schengen Visa from South Africa

Saint Lucia – 6 weeks

Guatemala – 90 days

Malawi – 90 days

Dominican Republic – 30 days tourist card must be purchased on arrival.

El Salvador – 90 days

Zambia – 90 days

Peru – 180 days

Namibia – 3 months

Fiji – 4 months

Nauru Georgia – 90 days within 180 days

Paraguay – 90 days

Micronesia – 30 days

Rwanda – 90 days

Grenada – 3 months

Nicaragua – 90 days

Uruguay – 90 days

Philippines – 30 days

Honduras – 90 days

Panama – 180 days

Lesotho – 30 days

Israel – 90 days

Malaysia – 90 days

Mozambique – 3 months

Tanzania – 90 days

South Korea – 30 days

Mauritius – 90 days

New Zealand – 90 days

Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – 1 month

How To Apply For A UK Visa In South Africa

Singapore –  30 days

See Also: 14 Things You Didn’t Know about Henry Cele of Shaka Zulu 

Zimbabwe – 3 months

Swaziland –  30 days

Trinidad and Tobago – 90 days

Thailand – 1 month (air) / 15 days (land)

Below are more countries that offer fewer restrictions to South Africans. All the listed countries would allow you to travel without a visa, however, most of the countries in this section would preferably issue a visa on arrival. This removes the hassles and delays involved in securing visa before travel as the visas are almost always granted once you have a genuine reason and as mentioned earlier, it is imperative that you check with the country’s immigration very close to the time of your travel as visa policies change frequently.

See Also: How to Book a flight and Check in with South African Airways

Countries that Issue South Africans Visa on Arrival

South Africans

Indonesia – 30 days

Bolivia – 90 days

Madagascar – 30 days

Armenia – Visa on arrival

Tunisia – 1 month



Jordan – 30 days

Guinea-Bissau – 90 days

Maldives – 30 days

Burundi – 30 days; obtainable at Bujumbura International Airport

Cambodia – 30 days


Iran – Conditions apply

Palau – 30 days


Gabon – Visa not required for children under 16



Samoa – 60 days


Senegal – 3 months


Saint Helena

Madagascar – (Visa on arrival)


Cape Verde

Timor-Leste – 30 days

Seychelles – 1 month










Togo – 7 days Benin

Kyrgyzstan – 30 days

Laos – 30 Days

Somalia – 30 days provided an invitation letter issued by the sponsor has been submitted to the Airport Immigration Department at least 2 days before arrival.

Tuvalu – 1 month

Turkey  – issues e-visa for 3 months

See Also: How to Apply for a UK Visa in South Africa

It is estimated that one in 10 new South African graduates will leave the country. According to a report, thousands of educated and skilled South Africans leave the country to find work elsewhere, resulting in a serious brain drain. It is estimated that brain drain from doctors alone cost South Africa $1.41 billion from lost investment in skilled labour.

Despite, the easy access to visit these several countries as mentioned above, South Africans fancy migrating or visiting top developed countries such as France – accommodating about 4,600 South Africans; Ireland, Germany, Netherlands, Canada, New Zealand, the US where SA diasporas are known to be successful; the UAE, Australia and the United Kingdom.

Was this article helpful?
How To Apply for Schengen Visa From South Africa Without Stress
Andile Smith
Andile Smith
Andile provides articles on anything from Politics, Sports, History and entertainment to funny, creepy and weird. His passion for writing allows him to take what is ordinary and transform it into a real masterpiece. He's a true storyteller with a passion for tech and literature
data-matched-content-rows-num="2" data-matched-content-columns-num="4" data-matched-content-ui-type="image_stacked" data-ad-format="autorelaxed">


Khosini Dlamini – A Look Back at the Life and Death of Minnie Dlamini Jones’ Brother

A sibling bond is a unique bond most people cherish more than any other thing. South African actress Minnie Dlamini-Jones once shared an amazing...

Truth about Hamilton Ndlovu The Gauteng Businessman Facing SARS For His High-End Car Collection

It is not unusual for people who have acquired new things most especially cars and houses to splash them across their social media for...

Unraveling DJ Tira’s Net Worth, The House and Cars He Spends His Money On

One of the most fantastic DJ's in South Africa and probably the biggest to make it out of KZN, DJ Tira’s net worth is...

Mandisa Meyiwa Met Her Late Husband When He Had Nothing – Meet Senzo Meyiwa’s Wife

It was since 2014 that South African goalie, Senzo Meyiwa, was killed in what was suspected to be a robbery case. Since then, his...

MacDonald Ndou – Demystifying the Real-life KK from Muvhango

MacDonald Ndou is a popular South African actor who is easily recognized for starring in the South African television soap opera, Muvhango. He has...

Featured Today

Jessica Nkosi Kept Her Romance with Baby Daddy T.K Dlamini Secret – A Look at Their Life Together

Somewhere in the minds of many South Africans, there was always the knack to find out the kind of man Jessica Nkosi was dating,...

Legacy Actors – Meet The Cast Members of M-Net’s Posh Telenovela

If you are a fan of family drama and also love watching television series that chronicles all shades of relatable family issues, then you...

Khosi Ngema – Inside the Life Of Fikile Bhele The Blood And Water TV Actress

Khosi Ngema may just be another South African teenager when she first started, but she is now more than that. The young actress has...

DJ Tira and His Wife Gugu Khathi Have Been Together for 2 Decades – Inside Their Relationship

DJ Tira and his wife, Gugu Khathi, are one of South Africa's most-beloved celebrity couples. They have been on each other's side for two...

Truth about Dj Tira’s Age and the Songs That Made Him Famous

DJ Tira is a South African disc jockey and record producer who gained fame in the entertainment industry and beyond due to his charisma...
Was this article helpful?

Related Stories