Blitzboks Vows to Extend Dubai Win In Cape Town


It was on Saturday that the Blitzboks bagged a 26-14 win over Olympic Games Rugby Sevens champions, Fiji, to win the Emirates Dubai Sevens tournament.

That was after the Springboks Sevens team humiliated New Zealand with a 40-0 win, and crushed Wales 36-5.

Now, the team has vowed to present a better performance and defend the HSBC Cape Town Sevens title this weekend.

Check Out: Colombia Plane Crash: Ronaldinho Offers To Play for Chapecoense

HSBC Cape Town Sevens will be played at the Cape Town Stadium on 10 and 11 December.

Although the Springbok Sevens team performance in Dubai earned them the Emirates Dubai Sevens title, the team’s captain maintained that they’ll have to improve performance in certain areas for the HSBC Cape Town Sevens games.

The captain, Philip Snyman said:

“We are far from the best we can be. We did well on the weekend and played a very good final against Fiji, but there are a number of areas we can improve on this week going into Cape Town.

It is always nice to have some continuity and confidence going into a tournament and we have some of that now. That is good, but we also know we can and must improve if we want some results this weekend.”

Springbok Sevens playmaker, Cecil Afrika commented that the Blitzboks team can’t wait to play in Cape Town.

He said: “It is the one opportunity we have; to play in front of our home support and, we are really looking forward to that.

“We really cherish this opportunity and I would like to call on our supporters to come out in numbers and support us on the weekend.”

Read Also: Sports Minister Flies to Spain for Selfies with FC Barcelona

Below are the pools for HSBC Cape Town Sevens

  1. Pool A: South Africa, Australia, USA, Russia
  2. Pool B: Fiji, France, Kenya, Japan
  3. Pool C: England, New Zealand, Argentina, Canada
  4. Pool D: Wales, Scotland, Samoa, Uganda

Topics: >