Bafana Bafana’s Kekana Nominated Alongside Messi and Neymar for Fifa Puskas Award


Bafana Bafana’s Kekana has been nominated alongside big shot players like Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Neymar Jr. for the 2016 FIFA Puskas Award.

The Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder, Hlompho Kekana was nominated for his first and outstanding goal against Cameroon in a CAF Africa Cup of Nations qualifier in Yaounde.

Kekana netted the spectacular goal from inside his own half after he won the ball from Cameroon’s Tony Tchani. He simply looked up took a powerful shot which left keeper Ndy Assembe helpless.

Read Also: ‘We Must Humiliate Cameroon,’ Banyana Banyana Coach Charges

Below is a video footage of the goal if you missed it.

Bafana Bafana’s Kekana is now the second South African player to be nominated for the award. Siphiwe Tshabalala was listed in the worldwide top 10 nominations for his goal in the opening match of the 2010 Fifa World Cup against Mexico.

Unfortunately, he failed to take the ultimate prize due to failure to acquire many votes.

The 2016 FIFA Puskas prize will be awarded to the scorer of the Goal of the Year at The Best FIFA Football Awards scheduled to hold on 9 January 2017 in Zurich.

Below is a list of the top 10 nominees and the goals they were nominated for:

  1. Mario Gaspar (ESP) – 13.11.2015, Spain v. England, international friendly
  2. Hlompho Kekana (RSA) – 26.03.2016, Cameroon v. South Africa, Africa Cup of Nations qualifier
  3. Marlone (BRA) – 21.04.2016, Corinthians v. Cobresal, Copa Libertadores
  4. Lionel Messi (ARG) – 21.06.2016, USA v. Argentina, Copa América Centenario semi-final
  5. Neymar (BRA) – 08.11.2015, Barcelona v. Villarreal, La Liga (Spain)
  6. Saúl Ñíguez (ESP) – 27.04.2016, Atlético Madrid v. Bayern Munich, UEFA Champions League
  7. Hal Robson-Kanu (WAL) – 01.07.2016, Wales v. Belgium, UEFA EURO 2016
  8. Daniuska Rodríguez (VEN) – 14.03.2016, Venezuela v. Colombia, South American U-17 Women’s Football Championship
  9. Simon Skrabb (FIN) – 31.10.2015, Gefle v. Åtvidaberg, Allsvenskan league, Sweden
  10. Mohd Faiz Subri (MAS) – 16.02.2016, Penang v. Pahang, Malaysia Super League

It’s now up to fans to pick the Goal of the Year and decide which scorer’s name will be added to a list of past winners like Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, James Rodriguez and Wendell Lira.

To vote, you’ll have to watch the ten shortlisted goals and select your favourite.  Voting is open until the day of the ceremony (9 January 2017) and is divided into two  parts.

See Also: Faf du Plessis Declared Guilty of Ball Tampering In Match Against Australia

“You have until 2 December to cast your first vote. On that date, the shortlist will be reduced to the three most popular goals, according to the votes received up to that point.

“Voting will then re-open, allowing you to select your favourite goal from the three finalists. The goal that receives the most votes during the second round of voting will be named Goal of the Year, and the scorer will be presented with the award at the ceremony in Zurich,” FIFA related.

You can vote for your fav goal here.

Topics: >