81 CEOs Rally Behind Gordhan To Save South Africa’s Economy


BuzzSouthAfrica gathered that 81 CEOs have rallied behind South Africa’s Finance Minister Pravin Gordhan in order to weaken the damages his prosecution will have on South Africa’s economy.

As learnt, the CEOs are members of the CEO Initiative which was formed to strengthen South Africa’s economy and avert credit ratings downgrade after President Zuma Axed former Finance Minister, Nhlanhla Nene.

Initially, CEO Initiative condemned the decision to pursue a criminal case against Gordhan.

Read Also: Nigeria Overtakes South Africa As Africa’s Largest Economy

“The Minister of Finance and the broader team at National Treasury have worked tirelessly in the interest of the country and we strongly condemn the manner in which they are being attacked and their efforts threatened.

“A continuation of political uncertainty would be disastrous for the future of our economy, especially given its fragile state at the moment,” CEO Initiative warned.

Now, 81 members of the Initiative pledged their support for Gordhan ahead of his 2nd November court appearance for fraud charges.

The CEOs said their support for the Finance Minister is a stand against the damage his prosecution has caused to the economy and South Africans.

“We stand against the damage this has caused to our economy and to the people of South Africa, especially the poor.

“We stand as one for the rule of law and against the decision to prosecute the Minister of Finance on charges that are, according to the preponderance of expert legal opinion, without factual or legal foundation and not in the public interest,” stated the CEOs.

See Also: Corrupt Companies Compelled To hand Blacks 40% Shares 

As culled from Fin24, below are the 81 CEO who pledge their support for the Finance Minister:

  1. Altron: No name provided
  2. Anglo American: Mark Cutifani
  3. AngloGold Ashanti Limited: Srinivasan Venkatakrishnan
  4. Asisa: Leon Campher
  5. Aspasa & Sarma: Nico Pienaar
  6. Aveng: Kobus Verster
  7. Bain & Company: Vittorio Massone
  8. Barclays Africa: Maria Ramos
  9. Bid Corporation: Brian Joffe
  10. Blue Label Telecoms: Mark Levy
  11. Business Unity South Africa: Khanyisile Kweyama
  12. Business Leadership South Africa: Thero Setiloane (on behalf of member companies)
  13. Black Business Council: Mohale Ralebitso
  14. Bowman Gilfillan: Robert Legh (chairperson)
  15. Capitec Bank: Gerrie Fourie
  16. CEO Initiative: Jabu Mabuza (convenor)
  17. Chamber of Mines: Roger Baxter
  18. Credit Suisse South Africa: Rick Menell (chairperson)
  19. Dimension Data Middle East & Africa: Grant Bodley
  20. Discovery Limited: Adrian Gore
  21. Distell Limited: Richard Rushton
  22. ENSafrica: Michael Katz (chairperson)
  23. Exxaro Resources Limited: Mxolisi Mgojo
  24. FirstRand Bank: Johan Burger
  25. Goldman Sachs: Colin Coleman
  26. Growthpoint Properties Ltd: Norbert Sasse
  27. Hollard Group: Nic Kohler
  28. Imperial Holdings: Mark Lamberti
  29. Independent: Michael Spicer
  30. Investec Bank Limited & Investec: Stephen Koseff
  31. Johannesburg Stock Exchange: Nicky Newton-King
  32. Kagiso Tiso Holdings: Vuyisa Nkonyeni
  33. KPMG Southern Africa: Trevor Hoole
  34. Liberty Holdings Group: Thabo Dloti
  35. Life Healthcare: André Meyer
  36. Lion Pride Investment Holdings Ltd: Geoff Rothschild
  37. Mediclinic SA: Danie Meintjes
  38. Menston Holdings (Pty) Ltd: Stanley Subramoney
  39. MMI Holdings: Nicolaas Kruger
  40. Mondi Group: David Hathorn
  41. Mr Price Group Ltd: Stuart Bird
  42. MTN SA: Phuthuma Nhleko (chairperson) and Mteto Nyati (CEO)
  43. Murray & Roberts Holdings Limited: Henry Laas
  44. Nampak Ltd: André de Ruyter
  45. Nando’s: Geoff Whyte
  46. Naspers: Bob van Dijk
  47. Nedbank Group: Vassi Naidoo (chairperson)
  48. Nedbank Group: Mike Brown
  49. Netcare: Richard Friedland
  50. Northam Platinum: Paul Dunne
  51. Old Mutual: Bruce Hemphill: Dave Macready and Ralph Mupita
  52. PG Group: Charles Bromley
  53. Pick n Pay Stores: Gareth Ackerman (chairperson)
  54. Pioneer Foods Group Ltd: Phil Roux
  55. Primedia: Roger Jardine
  56. RCL Foods: Miles Dally
  57. Remgro Finance Corporation: Jannie Durand
  58. Reunert: Alan Dickson
  59. Richards Bay Minerals: Mpho Mothoa
  60. RMB Holdings and RMI Holdings: Herman Bosman
  61. Rothschild: Martin Kingston
  62. Safika Holdings: Moss Ngoasheng
  63. Sanlam: Ian Kirk
  64. Sappi Limited: Steve Binnie
  65. Sasol Limited: Bongani Nqwababa & Stephen Cornell
  66. SEIFSA: Kaizer Nyatsumba
  67. Shell Downstream South Africa: Bonang Mohale
  68. Sibanye Gold: Neal Froneman
  69. South32 Limited: Michael Fraser
  70. Spar: Graham O’Connor
  71. Standard Bank Group Ltd: Ben Kruger & Sim Tshabalala
  72. Sun International: Graeme Stephens
  73. T-Systems South Africa: Gert Schoonbee
  74. Telkom SA Limited: Sipho Maseko
  75. TFG: Doug Murray
  76. The Banking Association South Africa: Cas Coovadia
  77. Tower Property Fund Ltd: Marc Edwards
  78. Twinsaver Group: Garth Towell
  79. Webber Wentzel: Christo Els (Senior partner)
  80. Woolworths Group SA: Simon Susman
  81. Woolworths Holdings (Australia): Ian Moir

Topics: > >