2017 Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards: All The Winners


The 2017 Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards recognised and rewarded the efforts of African comedians on Saturday night at the Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg.

The 7th annual ceremony, themed The Freedom of Funny celebrated the power which comedy uses to break down barriers and open borders between African countries. It’s also a platform used to encourage the free flow of comedy talent.

Mojak Lehoko’s work as a writer in comedy earned him a win in the Comics’ Pen Award category at the 2017 Comics Choice Awards. He beat out the likes of Lazola Gola, Karabo Lediga and Trevor Noah to clinch the award. Mojak is not just a writer and comedian, but also an actor and voice-over artist.

In the Savanna Pan-African Award category which debuted on the list this year, five nominees flew in from Nigeria, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Angola and Lesotho to celebrate with their South African counterparts. Eventually, Nigeria’s Basketmouth (Bright Okpocha), a popular face worldwide and one of the hardest working comedians in Africa walked away with the inaugural award.

Read Also: Trevor Noah Bags His First Emmy: See Winners At 2017 Creative Arts Awards

The renowned comedian performs in different countries weekly and has over 7.6m followers on social media.

Here’s a list of all the nominees and winners of the 2017 Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards

Breakthrough Award
Skhumba Hlophe
Alfred Adriaan
Loyiso Gola – Winner
Robby Collins
Tumi Morake

Savanna Newcomer of the Year
Thabiso Mhlongo – Winner
Tsitsi Chiumya
Bongani Dube Eric
Jansen Summary

Intermediate Award
Ebenhaezer Dibakwane – Winner
Virgil Prins
Glen Biderman-Pam
Noko Moswete
Mo Mothebe

Non-English Comic Award
Salesman – Winner
Skhumba Hlophe
Celeste Ntuli
Mashabela Galane
Thapelo King Flat Mametja

Flying Solo Award
Skhumba Hlophe – Winner
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Loyiso Gola
Mashabela Galane

Comics’ Pen Award
Mojak Lehoko – Winner
Trevor Noah
Muzi Dlamini
Lazola Gola
Karabo Lediga

The Nando’s Best Friend of Comedy
Goliath & Goliath – Winner
David Kau – Blacks Only
Carvin H Goldstone
On Fire Comedy
Armchair – Gino Fernandez

Savanna Comic of the Year
Skhumba Hlophe – Winner
Loyiso Gola
Carvin H Goldstone
Celeste Ntuli
Kagiso KG Mokgadi

Savanna Pan-African Comic of the Year
Patrick Idringi (aka Salvado) from Uganda
Bright Okpocha (aka Basketmouth) from Nigeria – Winner
Carl Joshua Ncube from Zimbabwe
Tshepo “Masapo” Mpiti from Lesotho
Fernando Filipe from Angola

The Audience Choice Award
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli – Winner
Pelepele Mchunu
Thapelo Maila
Luphelo Kodwa
Thabang ER

Late Cyril Green was announced as the Lifetime Achiever recipient shortly before he passed away in July.