2017 Safta Winners: Here’s The Complete List


All the 2017 Safta winners were announced over the past weekend at a glamorous ceremony held at Sun City.

At the event, South African film and TV stars were celebrated and honoured. The 11th annual Saftas ceremony was hosted by TV personalities Thando Thabethe and Katlego Maboe.

The awards ceremony kicked off on Thursday when the first batch of awards were handed out. Subsequently, during a live broadcast on SABC2 on Saturday night, small screen and big screen stars received their Golden Horns.

Read Also: Joe Mafela: Tributes Pour In For The Legend Gone Too Soon

There were 258 nominees in 89 categories.

The ceremony was attended by the movers and shakers of the industry.

Here’s the list of 2017 Safta Winners;


Best TV Soap/Telenovela
The Road

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Soap/Telenovela
High Rollers

Best Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela
Anthony Coleman

Best Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela
Tina Jaxa

Best Supporting Actor – TV Soap/Telenovela
Mandla Gaduka

Best Supporting Actress – TV Soap/Telenovela
Linda Sebezo – Sharon Dlamini

Most Popular TV Soap

Best TV Drama

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Drama

Best Actor – TV Drama
Jerry Mofokeng – Heist

Best Actress – TV Drama
Tiffany Barbuzano

Best Supporting Actor – TV Drama
Warren Masemola

Best Supporting Actress – TV Drama
Jana Cilliers

Best TV Comedy
Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Actress – TV Comedy
Chantal Herman

Best Actor – TV Comedy
James Borthwick

Best Supporting Actress – TV Comedy
Sylvaine Strike

Best Supporting Actor – TV Comedy
Reabetswe Rangaka

Best Achievement in Directing – TV Comedy
Alex Fynn and Johan Vermaak, Puppet Nation ZANews

Best Talk Show
Real Talk with Anele

Best TV Presenter
Thembisa Mdoda


Best Actor – Feature Film
Dann-Jaques Mouton

Best Actress – Feature Film
Shoki Mokgape

Best Supporting Actor – Feature Film
Abdurahgmaan Adams

Best Supporting Actress – Feature Film
Hlubi Mboya

Best Achievement in Directing – Feature Film
Oliver Schmitz

Best Feature Film

Best Documentary Feature
Nobody’s Died Laughing

Best Student Film
Finding Freedom

Best Short Film
The Suit

Lifetime Achievement Awards
Junaid Ahmed
Lydia Mokgokoloshi

Youth Achiever Award recipient
Thapelo Mokoena

Most Popular TV Soap/Telenovela