2016/17 CSA Awards: Proteas’ Quinton de Kock Dominates Nomination List


Cricket South Africa (CSA) is set to award South African cricketers and, Proteas batsman, Quinton de Kock has dominated the nomination list for the 2016/17 CSA awards.

From our gatherings, the gala event aimed at honoring South Africa’s top performing cricketers over the past year will take place on 13 May 2017 at the Kyalami Theatre.

Already, CSA Awards Judging panel has finalized the nominations list for the event. BuzzSouthAfrica reliably learnt that Quinton de Kock is leading the nominations for the 2016/17 CSA awards.

Check Out – Syrian Civil War Unites Cristiano Ronaldo And Lionel Messi

As learnt, De Kock was nominated in the following categories:

  1. SA Cricketer of the Year
  2. Standard Bank Test Cricketer of the Year
  3. Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year
  4. KFC Award of Excellence

That’s not all, De Kock also earned his peers’ vote as SA Players’ Player of the Year and could be a contender for SA Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

Below are the details of the selected awards nominations:

  1. CSA Umpire of The Year
    1.  Adrian Holdstock
    2. Shaun George
    3. Bongani Jele
  2. Africa T20 Cup Rising Star Award
    1. Patrick Kruger (Northern Cape)
    2. Solo Nqweni (Eastern Province)
  3. Domestic Newcomer of The Season
    1. Aiden Markram (Multiply Titans)
    2. Wiaan Mulder (bizhub Highveld Lions)
    3. Jason Smith (Cape Cobras)
  4. Momentum One-Day Cup Cricketer Of The Season
    1. Junior Dala (Multiply Titans)
    2. Henry Davids (Multiply Titans)
    3. Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)
    4. Shaun von Berg (Multiply Titans)
  5. CSA T20 Challenge Cricketer of The Season
    1. Farhaan Behardien (Multiply Titans)
    2. Andrew Birch (Warriors)
    3. Jon-Jon Smuts (Warriors)
  6. Sunfoil Series Cricketer of The Season
    1. Theunis de Bruyn (VKB Knights)
    2. Duanne Olivier (VKB Knights)
    3. Shaun von Berg (Multiply Titans)
  7. Standard Bank T20 International Cricketer of The Year
    1. Lungi Ngidi
    2. Imran Tahir
  8. Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of The Year
    1. Quinton de Kock
    2. Faf du Plessis
    3. Imran Tahir
  9. Standard Bank Test Cricketer of The Year
    1. Quinton de Kock
    2. Faf du Plessis
    3. Dean Elgar
    4. Kagiso Rabada
    5. Vernon Philander
  10. KFC Award of Excellence
    1. Temba Bavuma (run out of David Warner)
    2. Quinton de Kock (catch of Neil Broom)
    3. Quinton de Kock (catch of Nathan Lyon)
    4. Faf du Plessis (catch of Lahiru Madushanka)
  11. Ram Delivery of The Year
    1. Vernon Philander (Adam Voges)
    2. Kagiso Rabada (Usman Khawaja)
    3. Imran Tahir (Dinesh Chandimal)
  12. Momentum Women’s Cricketer of The Year
    1. Ayabonga Khaka
    2. Sune Luus
    3. Dane van Niekerk
  13. SA Cricketer of The Year
    1. Quinton de Kock
    2. Faf du Plessis
    3. Kagiso Rabada
    4. Imran Tahir

The judging panel of the 2016/17 CSA awards includes Aslam Khota (Convener), Neil Manthorp, Victor Mpitsang, Robin Peterson, Shafiek Abrahams and Andrew Samson.

Speaking, Khota said: “The judging panel was impressed by the overall performances during the season of the nominees in the various categories.

“As always, these awards are tough to judge due to the stiff nature of the competition. Our world-class senior players are well established and there is an encouraging number of international newcomers making their mark as well.”

See Also – Proteas’ Squad For 2017-18 Season: Here Are The Players CSA Contracted

Also speaking, CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat said:

“It is my great pleasure and privilege to congratulate all the nominees as we celebrate a very successful year of superior achievement by our Proteas who had won all their Test series in the past 12 months on top of impressive 5-0 clean sweeps against both Australia and Sri Lanka in ODI cricket.

Our country continues to produce world-class players. We only need reflect on the superb way in which Quinton de Kock, Kagiso Rabada, Temba Bavuma and Keshav Maharaj have shone over the past year and who continue to grow along established greats like AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla and Dale Steyn.”

Lorgat also thanked individuals who worked diligently behind the scenes to create opportunities for SA cricketers to excel.