Bomb Threat Leads To Emergency Touchdown Of EgyptAir Plane


Three weeks after an EgyptAir flight travelling from Paris to Cairo carrying 66 people reportedly crashed into the Mediterranean Sea, another EgyptAir plane flying from Cairo to Beijing has had to make an emergency landing in Uzbekistan due to an explosion threat.

See Also: EgyptAir: Egyptian Military Finds Human Parts Among Other Debris

Media reports say the plane made the emergency landing after an anonymous tip about explosive devices on board.

As soon as the plane landed, all 118 passengers and 17 crew members on board the Airbus A330-220 were evacuated at Urgench International Airport for security purposes.

The local airline said the lane will be searched by security services to find out if the bomb threat is real.

However, Egypt officials said the aircraft has been thoroughly searched by Uzbek security forces but there was no explosive device on board the EgyptAir plane and the plane has been cleared to resume its journey to Beijing

The Uzbek Airlines press service has confirmed that the information is true.

EgyptAir chairman Safwat Mussallam, told the the press that Flight MS955 departed from Cairo at 21:55 GMT (23:55 Cairo time) on Tuesday and was scheduled to touchdown in Beijing at 07:34 GMT (15:34 Beijing time) the next day.

But, while the plane was still making its scheduled flight to Beijing, an anonymous caller alerted security agents in Cairo through a phone call saying a bomb was on board the aircraft and the pilot was told to land at the nearest airport for security check.

See Also: EgyptAir Flight MS804 Disappears From Radar With 69 On Board

Following the anonymous tip, the plane eventually landed at Urgench, about 840km (600 miles) west of the Uzbek capital Tashkent, at 03:00 GMT (08:00 Tashkent time) on Wednesday.

“The aircraft was evacuated, searched and the result of the search was negative, we were told by the Uzbek authorities, who gave us the authorization to take off again,” Mr Mussallam said. He added that they will not neglect any warning no matter how insignificant it may appear.

Like BuzzSouthAfrica: